Skip to main content

Pastoral Ministry Resources: EBooks

Welcome to ebrary!

ebrary is a database providing access to ver 125,000 electronic books in all academic disciplines. You can access it using your Multipass username and password. Click on the link below to connect to ebrary.

Find more electronic books

Through the Gumberg Library you have access to electronic books from other sources than ebrary.  To access the othe rebook databases, click on the links below. If you want to access the ebooks from home, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password. You may also need to have cookies enabled on your computer.

Internet Sources for Electronic Texts

There are many sources of electronic books on the Internet. The one thing to note about the books available through these sites is that they are usually older works that are "in the public domain," meaning they are no longer covered by copyright. These books may be historically useful, but they will, of course, not contain recent information. For newer electronic books, use ebrary and the other ebook databases available on the "Electronic Books" tab.

 

Google Books -- Contains a large collection of public domain books in full text, as well as previews of newer works

HathiTrust -- An international partnership of major research institutions and libraries, offers access to almost 10 million volumes

Internet Archives -- Access public domain books electronically, as well as video and audio files

ManyBooks.net -- Provides electronic access to almost 27,000 books

Project Gutenberg -- Provides access to over 30,000 electronic texts

Religion-Online.Org -- Full text of more than 6,000 articles and chapters by well-known religious scholars are included