Skip to main content

Roman Catholicism in Western Pennsylvania: Institutions

box 4

Catholic Institutions in the Pittsburgh Area

Duquesne University

 Duquesne University, "Old Main" (Administration Building) & Chapel

Image Source: Wikimedia Commons; Postcard image, printed by Minsky Brothers & Co, Pittsburgh, circa 1950; in the public domain

Catholic Institutions in the Pittsburgh Area

On this page are citations to books and other materials on important Catholic social and cultural institutions, like Mercy Hospital, the first hospital in Pittsburgh (founded by the Sisters of Mercy in 1847) and Duquesne University of the Holy Spirit, founded by the Congregation of the Holy Spirit in 1887 for the education of the children of poor immigrants. Materials in the "Spiritan Collection" and the "University Archives" must be used in the library.

 

Duquesne University of the Holy Spirit

Clees, William J. Duquesne University: Its Years of Struggle, Sacrifice, and Service. Call number: LD1773 .D82 C55X   Locations: Oversized (1st floor)

Danner, F.A. Side-Lights on the Early History of Duquesne University. Call number: LD1733 .D82 D3X   Locations, Oversized (1st floor), Spiritan Collection (3rd floor), and University Archives (1st floor)

Rishel, Joseph F. and Paul Demillo. The Spirit That Gives Life: The History of Duquesne University, 1878-1996. Call number: LD1733 .D82 R57 1997   Locations: 2nd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

Snyder, James L. Duquesne University, 1878-1953. Call number: LD1733 .D82 S6X   Location: 2nd floor

 

Holy Family Institute

Yankoski, Linda. The Soul of the Matter: The Impact of Government Funding on the Catholic Identity and Mission of Holy Family Institute, 1900-2002. Ed.D. Dissertation: Duquesne University, 2003. Call number: DUQ Thesis EDU 196 (1st floor)

Click here to read the above dissertation online (Multipass username and password required for off-campus access)

 

Mercy Hospital

Footprints of Mercy, 1847-1947. Pittsburgh, PA: Mercy Hospital, 1947. Call number: RA982 .P6 M462X   Locations: Oversized (1st floor) & University Archives (1st floor)

Mercy Hospital: Historical Sketches. Pittsburgh, PA: Mercy Hospital, 1975. Call number: RA982 .P6 M47 1975X   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

Pillar of Pittsburgh: The History of Mercy Hospital and the City it Serves. Pittsburgh, PA: Mercy Hospital, 1990. RA982 .P6 M463X   Locations: Oversized (1st floor) & University Archives (1st floor)

Refferty, Jeanette. Mercy Hospital, 1847-1972: An Historical Overview. 1974. Call number: RA982 .P6 M46X   Locations: Oversized (1st floor) & University Archives (1st floor)

 

St Anthony School for Exceptional Children

Meyer, Kathryn A. From Isolation to Inclusion: The Metamorphosis of the St. Anthony School Programs. Call number: LC1202 .P58 M4 1999X   Location: 2nd floor

St. Anthony School for Exceptional Children, Oakmont, PA: 25th Anniversary, 1953-1978. 1987. Call number: LC4693 .P5 S35 1987x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

 

St. Anthony's Chapel

Rodgers, Ann. St. Anthony's Chapel in Troy Hill Holds Heavenly Artifacts. Post-Gazette.com.

Click here to read article

 

St. Francis Hospital

Carson, Carolyn L. Healing Body, Mind, and Spirit: The History of the St. Francis Medical Center, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Pittssburgh, PA: Carnegie Mellon University UP, 1995. Call number: RA982 .P692 C321 1995X   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

 

 Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh

Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh.

Image source: Wikimedia Commons; created by Alekjds, used under a Creative Commons Attribution 1.0 Generic license