Skip to main content

Roman Catholicism in Western Pennsylvania: Religious Orders

box 3

Religious Orders & Congregations in Pittsburgh

Religious Orders & Congregations in Pittsburgh

On this page are listed materials on religious orders, congregations, and communities for men and women in the Diocese of Pittsburgh. Materials in the "Spiritan Collection" and the "University Archives" must be used in the library.

 

Women Religious

Sisters in Healthcare, Sixteen Communities of Religious Sisters in Western Pennsylvania, 1847-1969

 

Benedictine Sisters

Crawford, Kerry A. In This Time of Grace: Memories, Hopes, and Dreams of the Benedictine Sisters of Pittsburgh on Their 125th Anniversary. Call number: BX4278 .P58 C73 1997x   Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

 

Sisters of Mercy

History of the Sisters of Mercy in Pittsburgh, PA (video)

McHale, M. Jerome. On the Wing: The Story of the Pittsburgh Sisters of Mercy, 1843-1968. Call number: BX4483.5 .P59 M32   Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

 

Sisters of St. Francis

Arenth, Mary A. As a Living Oak: Biography of Mother Baptista Etzel, Third Mother Superior of the Sisters of St. Francis, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Call number: BX4705 .E74 A7   Location: 3rd floor

Green, M. Zita. The First 50 Years: A History of the Sisters of St. Francis and Their Works in the Missions of Puerto Rico. Call number: BV2848 .P7 G73   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

Popp, Clarissa. History of the Sisters of St. Francis of the Diocese of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 1868-1938. Call number: BX4364 .P5 P6   Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

 

Sisters of St. Francis of the Providence of God

Gimper, Eileen Leindecker. A Celebration of the Franciscan Spirit: Sisters of St. Francis of the Providence of God, 1922-2000. Call number: BX4486.78 .G5 2002x   Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

 

Sisters of the Holy Ghost

Sisters of the Holy Ghost (Pittsburgh, Pa.) History of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Ghost, West View, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Call number: BX4603 .p6 S54x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

 

Orders & Congregations for Men

 

Passionists

Passionists in Pittsburgh, 1852-2002: Sesquicentennial: We Remember, We Celebrate, We Believe: "The First Foundation," St. Paul of the Cross Monastery. Call number: BX3880 .P37 2002x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

 

Redemptorists

Roche, Thomas B. The Redemptorists in Pittsburgh, Pa. One Hundred Years, 1939-1939... Call number: BX4020 .Z5 P5 1939x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

 

Spiritans

The Spiritans: A Research Guide

 Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh

Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh.

Image source: Wikimedia Commons; created by Alekjds, used under a Creative Commons Attribution 1.0 Generic license