Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Roman Catholicism in Western Pennsylvania: Bishops & Priests

box 2

Bishops & Priests

Bishop Michael O'Connor

Michael O'Connor, First Bishop of Pittsburgh

Image source: Wikimedia Commons, scanned from the National Cyclopedia of American Biogrphy, 1896; in the public domain

Biographies of Bishops and Priests

On this page you will find citations to works on past  Bishops and Priests in the Diocese of Pittsburgh. Materials in the "Spiritan Collection" and the "University Archives" must be used in the library.

 

Collective Biographies

Glenn, Francis A. Shepherds of the Faith, 1843-1993: A Brief History of the Bishops of the Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh. Pittsburgh, PA: Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1993. Call number: BX1417 .P5 G54x   Location: 3rd Floor & Spiritan Collection (3rd floor)

Lambing, Andrew A. Brief Biographical Sketches of the Deceased Bishops and Priests who Labored in the Diocese of Pittsburgh from the Earliest Times to the Present, With an Historical introduction. Pittsburgh, PA: Republic Bank Note Co., 1914. Call number: BX1417 .P5 L3x   Location: 3rd Floor & University Archives (1st floor)

 

Bishops of Pittsburgh

Michael O'Connor: 1st Bishop of Pittsburgh

McAvoy, Thomas T. The Catholic Minority in Early Pittsburgh: The First Bishop, Michael O'Connor. 1961. Call number: BX4705 .O28 M3x   Location: 3rd Ffoor

Szarnicki, Henry A. Michael O'Connor, the First Catholic Bishop of Pittsburgh, 1843-1860: A Story of the Catholic Pioneers of Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania, 2nd ed. 2003. Call number: BX4705 .O28 S95 2003x   Locations: 3rd Floor & University Archives (1st floor)

Szarnicki, Henry A. The Episcopate of Michael O'Connor, First Bishop of Pittsburgh, 1843-1860. Ph.D. Thesis, Catholic University of America, 1971. Call number: BX4705 .O28 S94x   Location: Wright Collection (University Archives - 1st floor)

Richard Phelan, 4th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. I Am Going to Tell You a Mystery: The Life of Richard Phelan, D.D., Fourth Bishop, Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1889-1904. 2001. Call number: BX4605 .P4 M3 2002x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

Regis Canevin, 5th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. Giants Were on the Earth in Those Days: The Life of Archbishop John Francis Regis Canevin, D.D., Fifth Bishop of the Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1904-1920. 2000. Call number: BX4705 .C3 M3 2000x   Locations: 3rd Floor & University Archives (1st floor)

Hugh Boyle, 6th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. Water, Death, and Grace: The Life and Works of Hugh Charles Boyle--Priest, Pastor, Bishop, October 8, 1873-December 22, 1950. 1999. Call number: BX4705 .B8117 M396 1999x   Locations: 3rd Floor & University Archives (1st floor)

John Dearden, 7th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. "His Name is John": A Tribute to His Emminence John Cardinal Dearden, S.T.D., 1907-1988, Coadjutor/Bishop, Diocese of Pittsburgh, 1948-1958... 2001. Call number: BX4705 .D43 M33 2001x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

Vincent Leonard, 9th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. Blessed are the Poor in Spirit, For Theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven: The Life of the Most Reverend Vincent Martin Leonard, D.D.... 2001. Call number: BX4605 .L4 M3 2001x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

Donald Wuerl, 11th Bishop of Pittsburgh

McDowell, John B. The Life of the Most Reverend Donald W. Wuerl, S.T.D., Eleventh Bishop of Pittsburgh. 2005. Call number: BX4705 .W79 M33 2005x   Location: University Archives (1st floor)

David Zubik, 12th Bishop of Pittsburgh

Biography of Bishop Zubik from the Roman Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh website

Click here to read a biography of Bishop Zubik

Significance of Bishop Zubik's coat-of-arms

 

Priests in the Diocese of Pittsburgh

James R. Cox

Witt, Sally A. Hell Was Not Made for Us: Father James R. Cox and the Catholic Church in Pittsburgh in the 1940s. M.A. Thesis, Duquesne University, 1989. Location Duq Thesis Hist 96 (1st floor)

Click here to see this thesis online (Multipass username and password required for off-campus access)

Charles B. Maguire

McDowell, John B. "To Dwell in the House of the Lord All the Days of My Life"...The Life of Father Charles Bonventure Maguire, OFM... 2003. Call number:BX4705 .M25895 2003X   Location: 3rd floor

Charles Owen Rice

Crehan, Thomas E. Father Charles Owen Rice: Communism and Labor. M.A. Thesis, Duquesne University, 1964. Call number: Duq Thesis Hist 63   Location: 1st floor

Hoerr, John P. Harry, Tom, and Father Rice: Accusation and Betrayal in America"s Cold War. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2005.  Call number: F159 .P657 H64 2005   Locations: 3rd floor & University Archives (1st floor)

McGeever, Patrick J. Rev. Charles Owen Rice: Apostle of Contradiction. Pittsburgh: Duquesne UP, 1989. Call number: BX4705 .R453 M38 1989  Call number: 3rd floor

McNulty, K.K. Is it I?: The Witness of Monsignor Charles Owen Rice. Pittsburgh: DART Corp., 1988. Call number: BX4705 .R453 M39 1988x   Call number: University Archives (1st floor)

Rice, Charles Owen. Fighter With a Heart: Writings of Charles Owen Rice, Pittsburgh Labor Priest. Charles J McCollester, ed. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1996.   Call number: BX2347.8 .L3 R42 1996x   Locations: 3rd floor & Spiritan Collection (3rd floor)

 Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh

Coat of Arms of the Diocese of Pittsburgh.

Image source: Wikimedia Commons; created by Alekjds, used under a Creative Commons Attribution 1.0 Generic license