Skip to main content

Digital Catholica from CRRA: Collections H-Q

Learn About CRRA

Below is the link to the full CRRA website, as well as the links to other ongoing initiatives of CRRA. 

 

Collections H-Q

H

Henri Nouwen Oral History Project

From University of St. Michael's College. Sound recordings and transcriptions of interviews with friends and colleagues of popular spiritual writer Henri Nouwen. Also includes some sound recordings of talks and homilies by Henri Nouwen.

Henri Nouwen Photographs

From University of St. Michael’s College. Photographs of popular spiritual writer Henri Nouwen. These are available through the ATLA Cooperative Ddigital Resources Initiative. To see them, click the link above and then do a keyword search for "Henri Nouwen."

Holy Card Collection

From the University of Dayton. This is a sampling from our Holy Card Collections.

Holy Rosary Mission – Red Cloud School Collection

From Marquette University. The Holy Rosary — Red Cloud Digital Image Collection features selected photographs primarily from the Red Cloud Indian School of the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. The images include people, places, and events involving Oglala Indian children, youth, and adults; Jesuits; lay teachers; and Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity.

 

I

In the Spotlight: Mother Teresa

From Marquette University. During its centennial year (1981), Marquette University invited Mother Teresa to Milwaukee, presenting her with its highest honor, the Pere Marquette Discovery Award. The Department of Special Collections and University Archives preserves a large collection of images and documentary materials related to Mother Teresa's visit to campus.

The Indian Sentinel, 1902 – 1962

From Marquette University. The Indian Sentinel featured articles about Native Americans across the United States and their evangelization by the Catholic Church. Most were first-hand accounts by lifelong missionaries in the field that were often illustrated with photographs they had taken.

Inquisition Collections

From the University of Notre Dame. The Harley L. McDevitt Inquisition Collection consists of several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images. The project is intended as a resource for students and researchers and thus contains thematic introductory essays to materials and digital facsimiles of documents.

 

J

Jesuitica Collection

From Loyola University of Chicago. Items from the Rare Book Collection written by and about the Society of Jesus.

 

K

Kelly Library Digitized Books

From University of St. Michael's College. The Kelly Library has digitized over 15,000 volumes of pre-1923 imprints from its collections.

 

M

Marian Art

From the University of Dayton. The Marian Library - International Marian Research Institute maintains a collection of thousands of cultural items conceptualizing Mary, the mother of Christ. This is a sampling of three dimensional objects that have been photographed using 360-degree imaging. The process offers viewers a unique chance to rotate and view the pieces from all sides. Click the “View 360” link available on each item to rotate and examine virtually.

Marianist Spirit

From the University of Dayton. This series of bas-reliefs of the work of Spanish artist Antonio de Oteiza represents facets of the Marianist vision and spirit These ceramic sculptures were commissioned by Spanish Marianists to commemorate the September 3, 2000, beatification of Father William Joseph Chaminade (1761-1850), founder of the Marianist Family. 

 

N

National Catholic Welfare Conference

From the Catholic University of America. The National Catholic Welfare Council (NCWC), officially defined as the annual meeting of the American hierarchy and its standing secretariat, was established by the bishops in 1919. In 1922, the NCWC was renamed the National Catholic Welfare Conference, not Council, underlining the fact that it was consultative rather than legislative body.

 

O

Official Catholic Directory, 1822, 1834-1842

From the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center.

 

P

Packard and Butler Church Lithograph Collection

From the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center. This is a collection of Catholic church lithographs by the Philadelphia lithography firm of Packard and Butler (later Packard, Butler and Partridge), There are over 400 prints of interior or exterior views of Catholic churches throughout the United States and parts of Canada.These materials are owned by the American Catholic Historical Society and maintained at the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center, 100 E. Wynnewood Rd. Wynnewood, PA 19096.

Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center Historic Papers

This collection brings together various groupings of historic paper and pamphlet collections owned by the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research. For more information kindly contact the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center, 100 E. Wynnewood Rd. Wynnewood, PA 19096.

Premontre Architectural Sites Collection

From the University of Notre Dame. This project provides access to nearly 800 archival photographs gathered over the years by Rt. Rev. Astrik L. Gabriel, O. Praem., that document architectural sites sponsored by the Order of Prémontré. All of these photographs date prior to World War II and are important documents of the many sites that were damaged or destroyed during the War.

Pro Maria Beauraing Committee Collection

From the University of Dayton. This collection, assembled by the Pro Maria Committee of Lowell, Massachusetts in 1965, contains photographs and images relating to the Marian apparitions in Beauraing, Belgium that occurred in 1932 and 1933.