Skip to main content

Digital Catholica from CRRA: Collections A-G

Learn About CRRA

Below is the link to the full CRRA website, as well as the links to other ongoing initiatives of CRRA. 

 

Collections A-G

A

Ade Bethune Drawings

From St. Catherine University. A selection of Ade Bethune's original brush and ink drawings, created for the Catholic Worker newspaper and other publications, as well as 200 clip art graphics from the book Eye Contact with God Through Pictures, encompassing the seasons of the Church year and various saints.

Ade Bethune Writings

From St. Catherine University. These writings are articles and pamphlets written by Bethune.

Alfred Hamy’s Jesuit Portrait Gallery

From Marquette University. Raynor Memorial Libraries has digitized Galerie Illustrée de la Compagnie de Jésus (Paris: 1893) in order to improve access to this cornerstone collection of Jesuitica. Staff at the John J. Burns Library at Boston College graciously contributed an assortment of digital scans, allowing for the complete presentation of Alfred Hamy's seminal work. The gallery contains 405 engravings of notable Jesuits from the 16th century to the 19th century.

 

B

Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions Collection

From Marquette University. This collection contains over 1,800 images of Native Americans and related Catholic churches, schools, clergy, and religious from across the United States. Most were submitted to The Indian Sentinel as illustrations. A few images from the Sacred Heart Franciscan Records and the Walter Bernard Hunt Collection are also included.

 

C

Catholic Church Extension Society Photograph Collection

From Loyola University of Chicago. The Catholic Church Extension Society (CCES) Photograph Collection highlights the various churches built by CCES and the congregations assisted during the first half of the 20th century.

Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Car Collection

From Loyola University of Chicago. Logs and photographs from the Catholic Church Extension Society (CCES) records and photograph collection demonstrate the activities of CCES across the United States.

Catholic Church Extension Society Motor Chapel Collection

From Loyola University of Chicago. The CCES Motor Chapels collection includes photographs of the automobiles used to bring Catholic services to poor parishes around the United States. These images are from the Catholic Church Extension Society Photograph Collection.

Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Boat Collection (Lousiana)

From Loyola University of Chicago. From the Catholic Church Extension Society (CCES) photograph collection, this digital collection depicts some of the ways that CCES conducted their missions in Louisiana.

Catholic Church Extension Society Chapel Boat Collection (United States)

From Loyola University of Chicago. From the Catholic Church Extension Society (CCES) photograph collection, this digital collection highlights the various wagons used by CCES to conduct missions across the United States.

Catholic Church Extension Society Unidentified Photographs Collection

From Loyola University of Chicago. This collection contains unidentified images from the Catholic Church Extension Society photograph collection. Any information leading to the identification of the places, churches, and people in these images are welcome. Please email archive@luc.edu with any information.

Catholic Educational Exhibit, World’s Columbian Exposition, Chicago

From the Catholic University of America. Consists of 50 photographs documenting the building, hall, and alcoves where Catholic educational institutions displayed objects and printed material from 1892-1893 during the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago, Illinois.

Catholic Pamphlets

From the University of Notre Dame. This collection consists of more than 5000 pamphlets by various Roman Catholic authors, including John F. Noll, Leo A. Pursley, Fulton J. Sheen, John A. O'Brien, and Daniel Lord. The majority were published in the United States from the early nineteenth century to the mid-twentieth century. A significant portion of the collection has been digitized, and can be found through the Notre Dame Catalog by searching for the phrase “catholic pamphlets” and then by limiting your search to "online access."

Catholic Peace Fellowship Bulletin, 1965-1978

From the University of Notre Dame. Records of the Catholic Peace Fellowship, one of several Catholic peace collections in the University of Notre Dame Archives, include Manuscripts of talks and articles, organizational material for protest activities, newspaper and magazine clippings, press statements, photographs, and letters, with correspondence with Daniel and Philip Berrigan, Thomas Merton, James Forest, Dorothy Day, Thomas Cornell, George McGovern, and Robert F. Kennedy. The CPF published a bulletin, and we have issues dating from 1965 to 1978 available here.

Catholic Sisters International

From the University of Dayton. This is a collection of dolls dressed as nuns from religious orders active primarily in the United States.

Catholic Theological Union on the Internet Archive 

From the Catholic Theological Union. These items were digitized through the CARLI consortium, and include historical materials on religious orders and U.S. Catholic history.

Catholic Women Poets Collection

From Loyola University Chicago. The Catholic Women Poets digital collection features correspondence and poems from Helen Parry Eden, Emily Hickey, Louise Imogen Guiney, Shelia Kaye-Smith, Rose Hawthorne Lathrop, Alice Meynell, Christina Rossetti, and Kathryn White Ryan. Also included are several images of the featured poets. This digital collection is composed of materials from the Carrigan Collection.

Catholica Collection

From Villanova University. This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts.

Catholicism in L.A.

From Loyola Marymount University. Catholicism in Los Angeles offers a unique look into Los Angeles history and its rich Roman Catholic roots. Focusing on the themes of education and social justice, and include texts and photographs related to reformers and reform movements, and influential early families. Materials from the Workman Family Papers and the Dockweiler Family Papers were digitized, including those detailing the life of social activist Mary Julia Workman and her contributions to education in Los Angeles. The Dockweiler family is a Roman Catholic family long distinguished in Los Angeles civic, legal, and social life.

Contributions from Augustinian Theologians and Scholars

From Villanova University. This collection makes available digital content of Catholic materials including books, journals, papers, and manuscripts.

 

E

Elizabeth Ann Seton Letters

From the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center. Elizabeth Ann Seton Letters, 1799-1818. This small collection includes letters from Elizabeth Ann Seton to Matthias and Joseph O'Conway. Matthias, a prominent Philadelphia especially within the Catholic community, was a the father of Cecilia O'Conway, Philadelphia's first nun and the first woman to join Seton's order, the Sisters of Charity. The correspondence is personal in nature and relates to several members of the O'Conway family. These materials are owned by the American Catholic Historical Society and maintained at the Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center, 100 E. Wynnewood Rd. Wynnewood, PA 19096.

 

F

First Vatican Council Photograph Album

From the Catholic University of America. This collection consists of a leather-bound album containing 30 pages of carte de visite albumen prints. This album features prints of Pope Pius IX, and 730 cardinals, patriarchs, primates, archbishops, bishops, and abbots who attended the Vatican Council I from 1869-1870.

 

G

Gartner Diaries

From St. Norbert College. 10 volume set of diaries of Fr. Maximilian Gartner from 1846-1853.

Gumberg Library Digitized Book Collection

From Duquesne University. This is a link to the ever-growing collection of books digitized from the Gumberg Library. A large portion of them are on Catholic subjects.