LibGuides: Sexual Assault and Rape: Gumberg Resources

Books

Need more books? Use the "Finding Resources at Gumberg" box to the right to find more!

Print Books: (Follow the links to find out more about the books!)

Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer
Call Number: HV6568.M57 K73 2015 (Gumberg 3rd floor)
From bestselling author Jon Krakauer, a stark, powerful, meticulously reported narrative about a series of sexual assaults at the University of Montana -- stories that illuminate the human drama behind the national plague of campus rape.
Surviving Sexual Violence: a guide to recovery and empowerment by Thema Bryant-Davis (Editor)
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor (RC560.S44 S87 2011)
Victims of sexual assault experience their trauma in different ways, and often one path to recovery and healing is right for one person, but not right for another. While there are some general mental health effects of sexual violence, this book outlines and describes the impact of particular types of sexual violation.
Asking for It: the alarming rise of rape culture--and what we can do about it by Kate Harding
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor. HV6556 .H37 2015
In Asking for It, Kate Harding combines in-depth research with an in-your-face voice to make the case that twenty-first-century America supports rapists more effectively than it supports victims.
Sexual Violence and Abuse: an encyclopedia of prevention, impacts, and recovery by Judy L. Postmus (Editor)
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor HV6556.S447 2013 VOL. 1+2
A comprehensive examination of the pervasive and persistent social problem of sexual violence and abuse that plagues millions of women, children, and men across the globe.
Yes Means Yes!: visions of female sexual power & a world without rape by Jaclyn Friedman; Jessica Valenti
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor HQ29 .Y47 2008
Yes Means Yes will bring to the table a dazzling variety of perspectives and experiences focused on the theory that educating all people to value female sexuality and pleasure leads to viewing women differently, and ending rape.
To the Survivors: one man's journey as a rape crisis counselor with true stories of sexual violence by Robert Uttaro
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor HV6558 .U88 2013x
To the Survivors is a deeply-moving, empowering, and brutally honest book about one man's journey as a rape crisis counselor with true stories of sexual violence shared by survivors in their own words.
Redefining Rape: sexual violence in the era of suffrage and segregation by Estelle B. Freedman
Call Number: Gumberg 3rd Floor HV6561.F74 2013
Redefining Rape tells the story of the forces that have shaped the meaning of sexual violence in the United States, through the experiences of accusers, assailants, and advocates for change.
Unsafe in the Ivory Tower: the sexual victimization of college women by Leah E. Daigle; Bonnie S. Fisher; Francis T. Cullen
Call Number: Gumberg 2nd Floor LC212.862.F58 2010
Unsafe in the Ivory Tower examines the nature and dimensions of a salient social problem--the sexual victimization of female college students today, and how women respond when they are, in fact, sexually victimized. Students and other interested readers learn about the nature of victimization while simultaneously gaining an understanding of the ways in which criminologists, victimologists, and social scientists conduct research that informs theory and policy debates.

eBooks: (Note: You will have to enter your MultiPass credentials to access these off-campus.)

Implied Consent and Sexual Assault: intimate relationships, autonomy, and voice by Michael Plaxton
In Implied Consent and Sexual Assault, Michael Plaxton argues that women should have the autonomy to decide whether, and under what circumstances, sexual touching can be appropriate in the absence of express consent. Drawing upon a range of contemporary criminal law theorists and feminist scholars, Implied Consent and Sexual Assault reconsiders the nature of mutuality in a world dominated by gender norms, the proper scope of criminal law, and the true meaning of sexual autonomy.
Perspectives on College Sexual Assault: Perpetrator, Victim, and Bystander by Roland Maiuro (Editor)
This collection of highly acclaimed research articles, published in the peer-reviewed journal Violence and Victims, disseminates state-of-the-art information about sexual violence on campus. It addresses the controversy surrounding statistics on the prevalence of college sexual assault and its tendency to go unreported, as well as contention regarding university policies and response (or lack thereof) by administrators.

Finding Resources at Gumberg

Use these subjects in any of our databases or QuickSearch to find books, articles, and more! (Note: We've recommended a few databases below!)

Rape
"Sexual Assault"
"Rape Culture"
"Sexual Abuse"
Rape AND Survivor*
Rape AND Victim*
"Rape Trauma Syndrome"
Rape AND Victim* AND Male
Rape AND Victim* AND Female
"Date Rape"
"Acquaintance Rape"
Rape AND (College OR University)
Rape AND Law
Rape AND Title IX
Rape AND Prevention
Rape AND Military
Rape AND Prison

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
International abstracts in sociology and related disciplines. If the full text is not available, request a copy through ILLiad.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Get in-depth research reports on various sub-topics of rape and sexual assault.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-disciplinary database that covers virtually every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary journal and eBook database covering a wide range of fields.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. If the full text is not available, request a copy through ILLiad.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is a great resource for in-depth research reports, organized in categories and issue trackers. Since rape and sexual assault span broad categories, we've listed a few reports below.