Skip to main content

Sylvia Plath: A Research Guide: Home

Photo of Sylvia Plath by Rollie McKenna

Find Articles

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.


Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.


DVDs


Creating poems of exceptional power, Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) is one of the best known and most influential American poets of the 20th century. Adding to her mystique was her stormy marriage to Ted Hughes, who was later named Poet Laureate of England, and her suicide at the age of 31.

This research guide is designed to quickly connect Duquesne University researchers to materials available through the Gumberg Library and beyond on this important poet and writer. It gives the researcher access to reference works, books (both primary and secondary sources), databases for journal articles, DVDs, videos from YouTube, as well as information on citing and obtaining materials not available through the Gumberg Library.

Use the tabs at the top of the guide to access the different sorts of information.

If at any time in your research you need assistance, click the Ask A Librarian link in the blue bar at the top of the screen.


Print Reference Works

E-Reference Works

Click on the title of a work below to use it.

To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Selected Books

Click on a book title to see if it is available to be borrowed.