Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Music Library Resources: Paul Koch Collection

Paul Koch

(Photo credit: Pittsburgh Music Information file in the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Music, Film & Audio Department)

Accessing the Collection

Franz Xavier Haberl

Paul Koch Collection

This collection features materials covering the dates 1858-1983 about Paul Koch, his father Caspar Koch, Edwin Henry Lemare, and Franz Xavier Haberl.

Paul Koch, born 1912, was a graduate of Schenley High School in Pittsburgh. He studied music at Carnegie Tech (now Carnegie Mellon University) and later received his Masters in Literature at the University of Pittsburgh. He was awarded a fellowship to study organ at the famous Leipzig Conservatory with Gunter Ramin. After two years, he went to Paris to study with Marcel Dupré for one year.  He took over the position of Music Director and Organist at St. Paul’s Cathedral in Oakland after his father Caspar Koch retired and remained in that position from 1949-1989. He served two terms as Dean of the Western Pennsylvania Chapter of the American Guild of Organists from 1947-49.

In 1944 he taught piano and organ at the Pittsburgh Musical Institute. He served as Director of Music at Mellon Institute from 1950 until 1975. He was also a member of the guest faculty that participated in the summer Liturgical Music Workshops in Boys Town, Nebraska. He performed at the dedication of the Boys Town Collection in March of 1990 at Duquesne University.

Supplemental Materials

 

(Photo source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edwin_Lemare)

In 1902 Lemare was appointed organist of Carnegie Institute in Pittsburgh. He remained there three years after which he performed all over the world. His compositions include two symphonies, overtures, suites and many smaller works. He had wonderful success with his organ transcriptions which show his powers as a composer, his technical knowledge and his command of registration.

(Taken from "Lemare Organ Album")

 

St. Paul's Cathedral, Oakland

See the source image

(Photo source: http://www.musiqueorguequebec.ca/orgues/etatsunis/pittsburghspc1.html)

Other Links

Contact Us

If you have any questions or would like to see the collections in person, please feel free to contact us.

Terra Merkey, Music Librarian
Phone: 412-396-1542
Email: merkeyt@duq.edu

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections
Phone: 412-396-4870
Email: whitet@duq.edu