Skip to main content

Spenser: A Research Guide: Home

Use this guide to research the life and works of Edmund Spenser, author of the English Renaissance epic, " The Faerie Queene"

spen pic

Edmund Spenser, 16th century portrait. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Online Reference Collections

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

Online Reference Collections--Other Subjects

For basic information about topics in all disciplines, including literature and history, these databases of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sorts of reference works can be extremely useful. To use them off campus you will need to enter your Multipass information.

intro

The Elizabethan poet, Edmund Spenser, best known for his epic The Faerie Queene is "one of the four founding fathers of modern English literature, along with Chaucer, Shakespeare and Milton." (Quoted from Andrew Hadfield in The Cambridge Companion to Spenser.)

This webpage is designed to assist the researcher, whether undergraduate, graduate student, or faculty member in finding a wide variety of different types of information sources available through the Gumberg Library on the life, work, and infuence of this major English author.

Use the tabs at the top of the screen to access the various sorts of information.

Help is Available!

If at any time in your research your need help, click on the Ask a Librarian link on the blue bar at the top of the screen. Or you can contact me, Ted Bergfelt, the creator of this page. Click to Send Email, or phone me at 412.396.5351.

Other Electronic Reference Sources

Click on the title of a work below to use it.

To use any of these electronic reference books off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a title link.

Print Reference works

The books in this box are all printed books that may be borrowed from the Gumberg Library.