Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Finding Dissertations: Subject Databases

Related Links

Subject-Specific Databases that Index Dissertations

Subject-Specific Databases that Index Dissertations

A number of the most comprehensive databases to the literatures of specific disciplines contain dissertation abstracts as well as citations to articles, books, and book chapters. These databases are listed below. To search them off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click on a link.


American History: America History and Life

Education: ERIC: Education Resources Information Center

Language, Literature & Folklore: Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB)

Music: Music Index

Music: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Nursing and Allied Health: CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health

Political Science: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Psychology: PsycINFO

Sociology: Sociological Abstracts

Theology: Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)

Search tip

To search any of the databases above for dissertations and theses, go the database search interface by clicking a link in the box above. Enter your search terms in the search fields. Then, to limit your search to disssertations, scroll down the screen to the "Publication Type" menu. Look for a document type such as "Doctoral Dissertation" or "Dissertation" in the menu. Click on that document type. Then press Search or Enter to run you search, which will be limited to just that type of document..