Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Health Sciences Literature Searching: More Resources

A guide to help you search the Health Sciences literature

Where was I?

Refer to the tabs above and their drop-down menus to explore the guide's pages.

Confused?

If you're confused about researching, Ask A Librarian any time of day for help.

MAIN IDEA


Additional tools for research include Finding Full Text Articles, Evidence-Based Practices, and mobile websites.

Research Literature Databases

CINAHL and PubMed are the two databases we focused on in this guide.

CINAHL: The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

EBSCOhost's CINAHL video tutorial: EBSCOhost's own video guide on using CINAHL.

PubMed: National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE

PubMed Video Tutorials: These YouTube videos cover the basics of research and the details of using PubMed.

PubMed Online Training: PubMed's own use guide.

NCBINLM's PubMed Video Tutorials: PubMed's own video tutorials.

These databases have to be accessed through Gumberg Library. You will have to provide your Multipass information in order to use them.

Click here to access the complete list of literature databases

Research Guides

Take a look at the links below to learn more about how to research.

Finding Full Text: Learn how to find an article's complete text.

Evidence-Based Practice: Learn about Evidence-Based Practice 

What You Really Need to Know About PubMed: Additional information on searching PubMed.

What You Really Need to Know About PubMed video: Presented on Feb. 15, 2013.

Google Scholar Guide: Learn how to use Google Scholar.

Google Scholar video: Presented on Dec. 5, 2012. 

EndNote: EndNote is a tool that organizes your sources and helps with citations.

Citation Guide: A guide to using citations and creating bibliographies.

APA Citation Guide: APA style citation is the standard in health sciences literature.

APA Style Blog: The latest information and anwers on APA citation.

 

Click here to access the complete list of research guides

Online Resources and Book Borrowing

There is more to health sciences literature than what is available in CINAHL and PubMed. Consider borrowing a book or seeing what's available at other universities.

Health Science eBooks: List of medical databases and websites that have books online.

Mobile Resources: List of websites that have mobile device capabilities and apps.

Borrowing from Gumberg: Guide to borrowing books from the Gumberg Library.

E-Z Borrow: Borrow books from libraries throughout Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and West Virginia.

Distance Services: How to access library materials when you aren't on campus.

ILLiad: Access journal articles from other universities and borrow books not available through E-Z Borrow.

 

Click here to access QuickSearch, the Gumberg Library Catalog

Subject Guide

David Nolfi's picture
David Nolfi
Contact:
412.396.4931