Skip to main content

ESL 147: ESL Term Paper (Lewis): Find Articles

 Duquesne University

Duquesne University

Motto: "It is the Spirit Who gives life."

Find Magazine & Journal Articles

While a book will give a comprehensive picture of a subject, even the newest book will not have the most current information on a topic. To find out the latest developments on a subject we use articles from magazines and journals.

Below are links to two great resources, Academic Search Elite and ProQuest. These databases allow you to find both popular articles from magazines and newspapers and scholarly articles from journals. Both databases contain the full-text of many articles. They cover all subjects. They are great for getting started with research.

To use them from off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases - Find Scholarly Articles

In this box are links to other general indexes that cover all subjects, but index only articles from scholarly journals.. They too are useful in getting started with a research project.

To use these subscription databases from off-campus you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Best Journal Databases by Subject

In every academic discipline, there is one database that is best for finding articles and other information sources in the literature of that field. Below are listed the best databases to use when you want to go in-depth in the journal literature of a particular discipline.

To use these subscription databases from off-campus you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

Finding Full Text

Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. Click the link below to learn about finding full text.

Connect Google Scholar to Gumberg Databases

Click the link below to learn how to make Google Scholar tell you if an article found in a search result is available full text in a Gumberg Library database.