Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Two Popes: Two Saints: Local Connections

Cardinal John J. Wright Collection

In 1962, then Bishop of Pittsburgh John J. Wright attended the Second Vatican Council, which was convened by Pope John XXIII. He had great influence on a number of the documents the Council produced.

In October, 1978, Cardinal Wright took part in the conclave that elected Cardinal Karol Wojtyla (John Paul II) as pope.

The Duquesne University Archives is the home of the Cardinal John J. Wright Collection. The Wright Collection includes the Cardinal’s addresses, papers, sermons, writings, and personal library, with substantial material from the Second Vatican Council. To access the Wright Collection, contact:

To use the Wright Collection, contact:

Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections

Phone: 412.396.4870

 Email: whitet@duq.edu

 Location: 1st Floor, Gumberg Library

 Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (or by appointment)

 

Duquesne University Exhibition

Pope John Paul II was a great proponent of interfaith dialogue. He was particularly interested in improving relations between Catholics and Jews. He was, in fact, the fist pope to visit a synagogue. In the image on the right we see him with Elio Toaff, Chief Rabbi of Rome, during the pope's visit to the main Roman synagogue in April, 1985.

In keeping with the tenets of the Duquesne University mission, one of which is to promote an ecumenical atmosphere, in 2006, Duquesne University hosted the historic exhibit A Blessing to One Another: Pope John Paul II and the Jewish People, The interactive exhibit included photos, video footage, documents and artifacts recording the groundbreaking contributions of Pope John Paul II to advance relations between the Catholic and Jewish faiths.  The four major areas in the display represented the four periods in the life of Pope John Paul II.  Among his personal effects featured in the exhibit are his baptismal certificate, the biretta he wore when he was named cardinal, a cane he used during his March 2000 visit to Israel and his white papal zucchetto.

A Blessing to One Another takes its name from Pope John Paul II’s commemoration in 1993 of the 50th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising.  On that occasion, the Holy Father said, “As Christians and Jews, following the example of the faith of Abraham, we are called to be a blessing to the world.  This is the common task awaiting us.  It is therefore necessary for us, Christians and Jews, to be first a blessing to one another.”

Nearly six months before his death on April 2, 2005, Pope John Paul II gave the exhibit his blessing.  He died just weeks before A Blessing to One Another debuted at Xavier University in Cincinnati.  Duquesne was only the third college or university to host the exhibit.

Click here to read the whole press release for the exhibit.

Duquesne University invites people of all faiths to experience the historic exhibit A Blessing to One Another: Pope John Paul II and the Jewish People, which opens on Monday, May 15 and runs through Friday, Aug. 11 in the Mellon Hall lobby on campus.The interactive exhibit includes photos, video footage, documents and artifacts recording the groundbreaking contributions of Pope John Paul II to advance relations between the Catholic and Jewish faiths.  The four major areas in the display represent the four periods in the life of Pope John Paul II, whose Christian name was Karol Wojtyla.  Among his personal effects featured in the exhibit are his baptismal certificate, the biretta he wore when he was named cardinal, a cane he used during his March 2000 visit to Israel and his white papal zucchetto.

A Blessing to One Another takes its name from Pope John Paul II’s commemoration in 1993 of the 50th anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto uprising.  On that occasion, the Holy Father said, “As Christians and Jews, following the example of the faith of Abraham, we are called to be a blessing to the world.  This is the common task awaiting us.  It is therefore necessary for us, Christians and Jews, to be first a blessing to one another.”

Nearly six months before his death on April 2, 2005, Pope John Paul II gave the exhibit his blessing.  He died just weeks before A Blessing to One Another debuted at Xavier University in Cincinnati.  Duquesne is only the third college or university to host the exhibit.

- See more at: http://newsroom.duq.edu/2006/04/27/pope-john-paul-ii-2/#sthash.EifKY1pT.dpuf

Picture credits

Photo of Cardinal Wright: Bishop's Latin School Alumni Association Website: http://www.blsalum.org/CardinalWright.html

Photo of Pope John Paul II and Rabbi Toaff: http://philippi-collection.blogspot.com/2010/12/miznafat-misnafat-miznefet-miznephet.html

Coat of Arms for John XXIII: By User:mAgul, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

Coat of arms for John Paul II: By Piom, CC-ASA-3.0-U, Wikimedia Commons

arms of john 23

Coat of arms of St. John XXIII

arms of jp 2

Coat of arms of St. John Paul II