Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

MUSC 302W: Musicianship VI: Finding Sources

This LibGuide was created for Dr. Binder's Musicianship VI classes as a resource to help with the research assignment.

Stage 2: Preliminary List & Revised Topic Description

Preliminary List of 5 Sources and Revised Topic Description

Due Monday, February 19, 2018 by 8pm

(5 Points)

The 5 sources you list at this stage cannot include any musical scores or recordings, nor can they include the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians or any other standard musical encyclopedia, but they may include anything else. (By no means is it implied here that you should not consult scores, recordings or the New Grove Dictionary.) You must also include at least 3 secondary sources in this list. Depending on your topic, you will probably include more.

As a general rule, no sources not obtained through an academic library (such as Duquesne's Gumberg Library) are acceptable. Following this rule will ensure that all of your sources are reputable and verified.

All sources must be cited in the proper bibliographic format. Because it is the most commonly-used format in the humanities, you are encouraged to use "Chicago style".  To find guides to this formatting style, look under the “Citation Help” tab.

Turn Stage 2 in on Blackboard, in MS Word or PDF format, under the menu option “Turn In Assignments Here.”

Locating Materials in the Gumberg Library


All physical music materials that Duquesne has are located on the 5th floor of the Gumberg Library:

The CDs are located in drawers. The oversize scores are on the first set of shelves to the right, and the regular scores are on the second set of shelves. Print journals and LPs are located on the third set of shelves. The Music Literature (ML) books and the Music Theory (MT) books are located on the shelves across from the scores (left side). There are signs on the ends of the shelves to help you out. It is necessary to have the call number for your item available in order to easily locate it.

Browsing in the music area is not normally successfulI! If you are having trouble locating an item, visit Music Librarian Terra Merkey. Her office is located on the 5th floor across from the elevators.

Interlibrary Loan

E-Zborrow

E-Zborrow is an interlibrary loan service that operates within the Pittsburgh area offered to you in the event that Gumberg doesn’t have the item or it’s checked out already.  Using your library ID code, you can request books (and only books) from local libraries to be delivered to Gumberg Library directly for your use.  A link to E-Z Borrow is on the left-hand side of the Library home page.  All you need to do to use it is enter your 16-digit University ID number.  Then you can search directly for books in other Pittsburgh area libraries and have them delivered to Gumberg in about 5 business days.

ILLiad

This is Gumberg Library’s interlibrary loan service (that’s what ILL stands for).  It should be used to request materials that can only be found outside the Pittsburgh area.  This includes books, articles, and CDs.  You’ll probably need to use this a lot.  If you’ve never used the service before, you’ll have to register, which is easy to do online with your University ID card on hand.  Just go to the Library home page, click on the ILLiad link on the left-hand side of the page, and then click on “New Users” underneath the ILLiad logon on the right.  If you’re asking for an article or just one chapter of a certain book, ILLiad will usually have a PDF of the article or chapter sent to your e-mail address within a couple of days or so.  If you need an entire book, it will be delivered to Gumberg, and you can usually keep it for about a month.  Items usually arrive in about 1-2 weeks, so don’t leave this to the last minute!

Research Databases

Subscription Databases

Duquesne University subscribes to several databases which will aid you in your research. These include RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, Music Periodicals Database, Naxos Music Library, and Oxford Music Online, among others.

Free, Open-Access Journals and Databases

In addition to Duquesne-subscribed databases, there are free, open-access journals and databases which may be helpful in your research. These can be found below.

Working with Search Results on Project Muse

This tutorial explains your options once you think you have found a useful article on Project Muse. Search tools such as JSTOR and RILM have options similar to these, so this quick video is a good one to watch!