Skip to main content

Digital Catholica: Collections R-Z

Selected collections of digitized Catholic materials from the libraries of CRRA member Institutions

Learn About CRRA

Below is the link to the full CRRA website, as well as the links to other ongoing initiatives of CRRA. 

 

Collections R-Z

R

Relics and Reliquaries

From the University of Dayton. This collection contains reliquaries holding relics of a number of different saints, as well as the accompanying documentation for many.

Religious Artifacts Collection

From Seton Hall University. Collection contains images of chalices, ciborium, cruets, and other objects from various collections of The Monsignor Field Archives & Special Collections Center.

Religious of the Sacred Heart Postcard Collection

From the University of San Diego. These impressive postcards feature the schools, chapels, convents, and people associated with the Religious of the Sacred Heart , the order of nuns who founded the San Diego College for 16 Women at USD. Also known as the Society of the Sacred Heart, this order is “committed to discovering and making God’s love visible in the heart of the world through the service of education.” The Society was established by St. Madeleine Sophie Barat in 1800 and grew to encompass an international network of schools and universities. These postcards document the growth of the Society from 1912 through the 1960s and include messages from students, friends, and relatives.

 

 

S

St. Francis Mission Collection

From Marquette University. The St. Francs Mission Digital Image Collection features selected photographs primarily from the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Reservations in South Dakota. The images include community celebrations, religious events, and mission and school activities involving Oglala and Brulé Indians, Jesuits, and Sisters of St. Francis of Penance and Christian Charity.

Santo Collection

From Regis University. The Regis University Santo Collection includes over 800 items of southwest religious folk art.

Spiritan Collection

From Duquesne University. The Spiritan Writings Collection at Duquense University makes accessible in one place many of the primary and secondary writings of the Spiritan Congregation.

 

T

Treasure Chest of Fun and Fact

From the Catholic University of America. A Catholic comic book fondly remembered by generations of parochial school students, published from the mid-1940s to the early 1970s.

Treasures of the CRRA

From CRRA and Seton Hall University. This is a web exhibit highlighting archival materials and collections documenting women religious from 13 CRRA member and non-member institutions, hosted by Seton Hall University.

 

U

Ursuline Convent, Charlestown, Mass., Collection

From Catholic University of America. This collection documents the ministry of the Ursulines of Quebec in Boston area during the years 1833-1903.

 

V

Vincentian Foundational Texts

From DePaul University. The texts in this collection, all part of DePaul University’s Vincentian Studies From Collection, are to be those considered the most fundamental and primary to the Vincentian Family. This collection will eventually include the complete extant writings of the Congregation of the Mission’s founder, St. Vincent de Paul; those of the co-founder of the Daughters of Charity, St. Louise de Marillac; and those of the founder of the Sisters of Charity, St. Elizabeth Seton.

Vincentian Historical Maps

From DePaul University. These maps are a part of the Vincentiana Collection at DePaul University Special Collections and Archives. They document the mission, expansion, history and travels of the Vincentians.

Vincentian Historical Texts

From DePaul University. Part of the university's Vincentian Heritage Collections online resources, produced by the University Library with materials and resources from the Office of Mission and Values and the Vincentian Studies Institute research collection, as well as the archives of the Midwest and Western Provinces of the Congregation of the Mission.

Vincentian Holy Cards

From DePaul University. These cards span several centuries and many languages, and show the religious iconography surrounding St. Vincent de Paul, St. Louise de Marillac, and the various religious and lay orders founded by them.

Vincentian Postcards

From DePaul University. Spanning 200 years, these postcards reflect the heritage of the religious orders, the growth of social institutions, advancements in technology and changes in urban environments. The images in this collection include institutions such as hospitals, churches and seminaries. Some highlights of the collection are French postcards relevant to St. Vincent's life, the residence of Estelle Doheny who was a patron of the Vincentians, and posed scenes of models acting out the work of Daughters of Charity in France.

Virginia Gaertner Broderick

From Loyola University of Chicago. Virginia Gaertner Broderick is one of the most well-known and influential religious artists of the 20th Century. The Virginia Broderick Exhibit highlights her artistic talents and her influence within the Christian community.