Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Psychology Resources: PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES

 

Greek letter "Psi" - Symbol for Psychology

Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Finding Full Text

Many of the Gumberg Library databases supply not only bibliographic citations for articles, but full text as well. To learn about how to know in if full text is available in any our our resources, click the link below for a page that describes this in detail.

PsycINFO Database

In all academic disciplines there is one database that tries to index all the literature of that discipline. For psychology it is PsycINFO. Anyone doing serious and comprehensive research in psychology should start their research there.

Below are important facts about PsycINFO:

  • Published by the American Psychological Association (APA)
  • It indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations
  • Journal coverage goes back to 1887
  • 2,100 journals are indexed, in 25 languages; 97% are peer-reviewed
  • Not a great source of full text; however the FindIt button may link PsycINFO citations to full text in other Gumberg Library databases

To do more effective searching, try using the "Thesaurus" to find official subject headings.

Click on the link below to start searching PsyINFO.  If you want to use the database off campus, you will need to first enter you Multipass username and password.

PsycARTICLES Database

Facts about PsycARTICLES:

  • Published by the APA
  • Completely full text! Contains full text of articles from 59 journals (48 APA journals and journals of 11 allied organizations)
  • The only database through which you can get the full text from journals published by the APA.
  • Coverage is from 1894-present

The subject headings from the PsycINFO Thesaurus work here also.

Click the link below to start searching PsycARTICLES.  If you want to use the database off campus, you will need to first enter you Multipass username and password.

Using the PsycINFO Thesaurus

To find the subject headings to use when searching PsycINFO, click on the "Thesaurus" tab at the top of the screen.

In the Thesaurus search box type your keyword for the concept for which you wish to search. Click the button in front of "Relevancy Ranked." This will cause the Thesaurus to not only display the correct subject heading for your concept, but also will retrieve other subject headings that may be used to retrieve related materials. Click "Browse" to run your search of the Thesaurus.

Scan the result list for the subject heading that best describes the concept you want to search for. If you need to see how PsycINFO defines a subject heading, click on it to be taken to a "scope note" (definition of what PsycINFO means by the subject heading).

 

To use the search term in a PsycINFO search, click on the Advanced Search link at the top of the screen under the Basic Search box.

On the Advanced Search screen, type your official subject heading in the search box. Then pull down the menu to the right of the search box and choose "DE Subjects [exact]." Then click "Search" to run a search that will retrieve all citations on the subject (or subjects) you have entered.