Skip to main content

Milton: A Research Guide: Reference Works

 

Illustration from Paradise Lost, artist: Gustave Dore. Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons

Click image to enlarge

Cambridge Companion to Milton

Click the link below to see the essays contained in this work.The book they are from is contained in the Literature Online (LION) database. If you want to view these essays off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when you click the link.

Milton Bibliography (1624-1799)

Literary Criticism: Online Reference Collections

Reference works are a great place to start research. Often, at the start of a research project, a student may not know much about the topic they have chosen. They need some basic information about an author, literary movement, or work of literature, in order to be able to intelligently define their topic and narrrow their topic to a manageable size.

The Gumberg Library provides access to two suites of electronic reference works geared to literature. Using both will provide your with a great amount of introductory information on your chosen literary topic.

Both of these collections of resources can be accessed off-campus, but you will have to enter your Multipass username and password word in order to use them.

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database provides information on thousands of authors and literary works. It includes biographies, reviews and news, literary criticism, and topic and work overviews.

Literature Online (LION)

Along with the full text of of 350,000 English and American works of literature, this database provides articles from 200 full-text literary journals and other key critical and reference resources.

Print Concordances

Print Reference Works

Print Indexes