Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Jewish Studies: A Research Guide: Philosophy

 

Moses Maimonides, from the Thesaurus Antiguitatum Sacrarum (1768). Source: Wikimedia Commons

eReference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works. Most of these databases permit you to search all the reference works contained in them at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search. Great for getting started with your research.

Find Background Info (Electronic): Philosophy

Click on the title of an electronic reference work to search it. To access these works off-campus, you will need to first enter your Multipass username and password.

Find Books: Individual Jewish Philosophers (Ancient & Medieval)

Find Books: Jewish Philosophy

Click on a link below to find all books and other materials on that subject in the online catalog. To read any of the electronic books off-campus, you will first have to enter your Multipass information.

Find Articles: Philosophy & Theology Databases

These databases may be accessed from off campus. To do that, when you click on the link for a database, you will be asked for your Multipass username and password. Enter that information and you will then be able to search the databases as if you were in the library.