Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Google Scholar: How To...

This guide provides information on the pros/cons of using Google Scholar in the academic setting to supplement library resources. Provided are screenshots for setting up Google Scholar to Gumberg Library, using the advanced search, and additional FAQs.

Set Preferences

How to set preferences in Google Scholar:

 

To link directly from Google Scholar to Gumberg Library's resources, you must first set your preferences. Set your preferences with the following steps.

 

1. Go to http://scholar.google.com and select Settings.

2. Select Library links on the Scholar Preferences page.

                                    

3. Search for "Duquesne" and other libraries in the Find Library search box.

4. Select Duquesne University, WorldCat, and any other institutions you are affiliated with.

 

5. Save your preferences.

Perform Basic vs. Advanced Searching

Once you have adjusted your settings in Google Scholar, you have several options on how to search for articles.

 

Basic Search

 

You can perform a basic Google Scholar search on the Gumberg Library home page. Simply click the tab Google Scholar at the center of the page above the search box, enter your terms and search. On the library home page, there are also two links underneath the Google Scholar search box - one will take you straight to the Google Scholar website, and the other will take you to the settings page so you may setup your Google Scholar with Duquesne University's Library resources (see directions above).

 

    -OR-  

Start off with several key terms, using quotation marks to group words and phrases together, along with Boolean searching (using AND OR NOT between search terms). 

On the results page, you will see three essential columns:

The left column shows several search refinements for the basic search, including document type (Articles or Legal documents), date range, and sort by relevance or date. The center column contains the search results, which are in default order by relevance. Search results usually contain a linked title of the article, the basic citation information beneath, followed by a brief abstract from the text. The right column will help distinguish which articles are available through Duquesne's website, or available as PDFs through another institution.


 

Advanced Search

 

There are several ways to do an advanced search in Google Scholar:

 

                                                                                             

Once in the "compact" advanced search box, you can enter search terms, exact phrases, search through specific authors/publications, and create a custom date range. 

 

 

 

Note that unlike the basic search, this results page shows the custom date range entered in left column, and at the top of the center results is the title of the journal pubication we selected to pull articles from. Notice that the results are dramatically increased when these advanced search refinements are entered.

Find Full-Text in Google Scholar

After setting your preferences, you can now search Google Scholar and access Gumberg's resources.

Find Full-Text in Google Scholar

After finding a resource, click the Find It @ Duquesne link on the far right to access Gumberg Library's resources. 

This will redirect you to new page with a list of databases where the article can be found. Select one and click GO.

 

If the Find It @ Duquesne does not appear on the right, try these three options:

  1. Click on a link if it appears on the far right. The link usually contains the resource in HTML or PDF formats.

  2. Click on the title of the document. If the resource asks for a payment, do not purchase the article or book.

  3. Click Find It @ Duquesne beneath the citation information. You can request the material through ILLiad.

If these do not work, you can try locating the material through the Library Search link that appears below the citation information. This redirects you to WorldCat, the global library catalog. Note that if you find the material at a local library, you still may not be able to use the resource if you are not affliiated the library.

Another option is searching QuickSearch with the citation information. If you still cannot find full text, please contact a librarian.

  • Remember: If you are connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your MultiPass credentials or your student ID number before the article will open. If you are searching from on campus, the article will be opened automatically.

Locate Citation Information (UPDATED)

Locate Author Citation Information in Google Scholar

Note: Locating information on or searching for a particular author is different from Google Scholar Citations, which lets you (the author) track and analyze your own articles that are indexed within the site. For more information on using Google Scholar Citations, click here.

The citation information in Google Scholar is extracted from the scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database, as well as from the U.S. patents within the Google Patents database. You can choose to eliminate or include the patents from legal journals and opinions from the federal and state courts in the citation results.

To find information on a particular author in Google Scholar, start out by searching in the "compact" advanced search box for author's first initial and last name in the designated field.

If a publication has been cited by these sources, it will contain a "Cited By" link below the citation abstract on the results page; clicking on that link will show all of the citing journal articles and patents/court opinions that are indexed in Google Scholar.