Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Advanced French Literature (FR 429W): Background Information

Library resources to help you begin your research into 18th century French literature.

Reference Materials Defined

"Reference" materials provide concise overviews of a topic.

Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research and they often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list for sources for your project. Examples include:

  • Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
  • Definitions (dictionary)
  • Synonyms (thesaurus)
  • Statistics
  • Biographical Details
  • Maps (atlas)

In Gumberg Library, we have both print and electronic reference collections available for your use.

Electronic Reference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of collections of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in most cases, you are able to search all the titles in a collection at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search.

Print Reference Books

E-Reference Books

The majority of our ebooks can be found in ebrary, a database of electronic books (including reference books).

You can connect to ebrary from our research databases. Select E for ebrary. There you can search for books on 18th century France.