Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Finding Full Text: PubMed @ Duquesne

Gumberg Library Quick Links

Note for using PubMed

When using PubMed, you must enter through the Gumberg Library web site. Using PubMed @ Duquesne will allow you to see Gumberg Library's content. If you do not see Gumberg's Full Text Finder icon after selecting an article, you are not in PubMed @ Duquesne.

PubMed @ Duquesne Full Text

Select PubMed from Gumberg Library home page to enter PubMed @ Duquesne. You can also find the link to PubMed @ Duquesne under Databases and in other library guides.

Enter your search terms and review your results. You will not see Gumberg Library's content until selecting an article.

Note: On the results page, do NOT click the Free full text available or Full text available links; you will lose Gumberg Library's materials.

Choose an article from your search results. Click on the title to view the abstract and additional information.

After you select an item from your search results, you will see links on the right for the article's full text.

  • If you have performed your search through PubMed @ Duquesne, you will see Duquesne's Full Text Finder button in the upper right of the screen.
  • Publisher links will usually ask you to log in and purchase the article, but you can get the article from Gumberg. You should never pay for an article while at Duquesne.
  • PubMed Central and some publishers do offer the article for free to everyone.

When the Full Text Finder window opens, it presents options to get full text. Try clicking Check for full text at the publisher's site and View this text at [database name] first .

When electronic text is not available, click ILL to request articles.

 Full Text Finder will redirect you to the ILLiad Logon. You will need to login using your Duquesne University MultiPass credentials.

After you login, the information for the article is automatically filled in; all you have to do is scroll down and submit your request.

Top of Page.

Remember that:

  • If you are using an NCBI account to login to PubMed, you need to set your preferences to see Gumberg's full text options. Here's how:
    • Sign into your NCBI account
    • Click NCBI Site Preferences
    • Under PubMed Preferences, click Outside Tool
    • Click D on the alphabetical list, then select "Duquesne University Full Text Finder"
    • Click the Save button
  • If you are connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your MultiPass credentials or your student ID number before the article will open. If you are searching from on campus, the article will be opened automatically.
  • For more information on finding full text, see Gumberg Library's Finding Full Text Articles. For more information on searching PubMed, see Health Sciences Literature Searching or Searching PubMed Tutorials.