Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Nursing Alumni: PubMed Full Text

This is a guide to help nursing alumni find medical resources, libraries, clinical and professional information, and more

Gumberg Library Quick Links

Finding Full Text on PubMed

If you have access to a library through your employer, you might be able to get full text of PubMed articles from that library or via interlibrary loan. If the library doesn't use a link resolver like Duquesne's Full Text Finder button, check with the library to see if they use another method, such as LinkOut, to link users to full text. If you don't have access through a library, you can also order articles through Loansome Doc or limit your search to only include articles for which free full text is available on the web. For alumni still in the Pittsburgh area, you can visit Gumberg Library for full text.

See the NLM's guide to Full Text and PubMed and the information below for more information.

LinkOut

If you use a special link from your library to access PubMed, as with Gumberg Library's PubMed @ Duquesne link, your library might already have LinkOut set up to link to its resources. Check with the library to find out if there is a specific URL you should use to access PubMed in order to link to the library's resources.

If your library participates in LinkOut, you can set up filters to only display items in your library's holdings or to display the library's icon in the abstract display for items in the library's holdings. A free My NCBI account is needed. Once you have an account, simply follow the PubMed Tutorial instructions for adding your library's holdings as a filter.

Loansome Doc

If you don't have access to a library through your employer, you can obtain articles for which free full text is not available using Loansome Doc. In order to use this service, you must first sign up for a Loansome Doc account.

For instructions on how to order articles through Loansome Doc, see the NLM PubMed Tutorial's segment on Ordering Articles. For other questions, see NLM's FAQ on Loansome Doc.

Limiting to Free Full Text

PubMed's search interface provides useful limiters to help you locate free full text. Remember that if you have access to a library through your employer, you might be able get additional full text from that library.

To limit your PubMed search to free full text, use the Filters on the left-hand side of the results page.

PubMed Free Full Text

Select Free full text available, and PubMed will automatically update with new results.

Finding Full Text within Gumberg Library

If you are in the Pittsburgh area and come in to Gumberg Library, you can link to virtually all of the library's electronic resources using PubMed @ Duquesne, but remember that this will ONLY work from within Gumberg Library.

See the Finding Full Text - PubMed @ Duquesne page for details.

Subject Guide

David Nolfi's picture
David Nolfi
Contact:
412.396.4931