Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Nursing Alumni: Library Services

This is a guide to help nursing alumni find medical resources, libraries, clinical and professional information, and more

Gumberg Library Quick Links

Find a Library

As a Duquesne alumnus, losing the convenient off-campus access that Duquesne students have to all of Gumberg Library's databases and full-text sources can be frustrating. However, there are other places you can go to get access to books, databases, and journals.

The following are some steps to take when looking for library and information services:

  1. The first place you should check is with your employer.
  2. If your employer can't help, check out these additional tips.
  3. Learn about alumni access to Gumberg Library.
  4. Check a library directory to find a library in your area.

Check with your employer

Your employer may have a library or access to a library. This library should be your first stop when looking for library services.

Below are some tips based on various employment settings.

Hospital or Medical Center

If you work at a hospital or medical center, it is likely that your hospital has a medical or nursing library. The services provided at your institution might include:

  • Collection of books and journals
  • Literature search assistance
  • Interlibrary loan
  • Electronic access to databases and journals

Physician's Practice

If you work at a physician's practice, hospitals for which the practice has admitting privileges might offer library services to the physician(s) and members of the nursing staff. Inquire with the hospital about available services.

College or University

If you work at a college or university, even as an adjunct, there is a good chance that they will offer many of the same databases, collections, and services that Duquesne offered you as a student.

Government

If you work at a state or federal agency, the agency might have a library you can use. Inquire about available services with the local administrator, or try searching your agency's website for information.

Corporate

If you work for a corporation, your employer might have a library. Corporate libraries are not always available to all employees, however, so check your company's directory to see if a library, information center, or information service is available and if so, contact them for more information.

School District

If you work for a school district, your school library might provide some resources. In addition, many school districts can access a network funded by their state; check with the school librarian to find out if you can access such a network.

Additional Tips

My employer can't help! What can I do?

If your institution or employer doesn't have a library, you have some other options.

  • Use the free resources mentioned on the pages of this pathfinder.
  • Contact hospitals in your area to see if they have libraries and will provide library services to healthcare professionals in the community.
  • Find a Loansome Doc provider. This service offered by the National Library of Medicine enables healthcare professionals to set up agreements with medical libraries to obtain full text copies of journal articles for a fee.
  • Contact your local public library. Public libraries can often identify other libraries that have resources you need or can order articles and books for you through interlibrary loan.
  • Contact David Nolfi for additional suggestions:
    David Nolfi, MLS, AHIP
    Health Sciences Librarian
    Gumberg Library at Duquesne University
    nolfi@duq.edu, 412.396.4931


If you are in the Pittsburgh area...

You can come to Gumberg Library to access virtually all of the library's resources, including all online journals. See the Alumni Access for more information.

Alumni Access at Gumberg Library

Many of Gumberg Library's resources are still available to you as an alumnus if you are able to come in to the library.

Alumni may do any of the following in person:

  • Borrow books
  • Use electronic resources, including virtually all Gumberg databases
  • Use computers
  • Print
  • Use the Curriculum Center's facilities and collections

See the Alumni Library Privileges for more details.

Off-Campus Use

Alumni access to electronic resources is limited to use from within Gumberg Library only. Alumni who are not able to come to the library should check with their employer's library or another local library, or use the free resources mentioned in the pages of this pathfinder.

Gumberg Library Digital Collections

The Digital Collections are freely available to the public. This collection contains Electronic Theses and Dissertations as well as various materials related to the University's history, such as photographs and old issues of the Duke.

Library Directories

Medical/Health Sciences

Public

  • WorldCat Library Search- Search all libraries by address or zip code; includes public, university, and special (corporate, medical, etc.) libraries.
  • PublicLibraries.com- This directory of public libraries provides links to library homepages

Subject Guide

David Nolfi's picture
David Nolfi
Contact:
412.396.4931