Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: Spanish

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

Browsing?


Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for Spanish language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

  • PC3801-3976 Catalan Language
  • PC4001-4977 Spanish Language
  • PH5001-5490 Basque Language
  • PQ6001-6168 History and criticism (Spanish Literature)
  • PQ6056 Moorish-Spanish literature
  • PQ6001-8929 Spanish Literature
  • PQ7081-8560 Latin American Literature

The library at El Escorial, the Royal Monastery of San Lorenzo El Real, contains many priceless manuscripts, as well as artwork by Titian, El Greco, Valazquez, and many others. Courtesy of CIA WorldFact Book

Other helpful guides

Spanish Word of the Day

Loading

Language Lessons and Grammar Guides

Audio, Images, Video and more...

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

  • CNN Espanol: Up-to-date news and global information in Spanish.
  • Cervantes TV: Cervantes TV es la televisión por Internet del Instituto Cervantes. Difunde la actividad cultural y académica en español que se celebra en el mundo.

Image Collections

  • WorldImages: An image database from the California State University IMAGE Project. Great resource for images worldwide. Includes art and life images.

Video Collections

  • Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language Spanish and material type DVD.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

Bilingual books?

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books Spanish AND English

Spanish Translation Tools

Online Dictionaries


Spanish-English Dictionary APP for Iphone and Itouch

Wordreference.com: Spanish

Spanishdict.com

Real Academia española

Web of Dictionaries: Spanish

For synonyms and antonyms


 El Mundo Dictionaries

Verb Conjugation


Verbix -- Spanish Verb Conjugator

Spanish Verb Conjugations

Wordreference Verb Conjugator

Print Dictionaries


To find a monolingual Spanish dictionary or Spanish/English dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords Spanish Language Dictionaries (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

Websites