Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: Japanese

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

Browsing?

Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for Japanese language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

  • PL501-889 Japanese language and literature
  • PL501-699 Japanese language
  • PL700-889 Japanese literature
  • PL700-751.5 History and criticism of Japanese Literature
  • PL784-866 Individual authors and works
  • PL885-889 Local literature

Colorful kimonos in a Tokyo coffee shop. Courtesy of CIA WorldFact Book

Other helpful guides

Language Lessons and Grammar Guides

Audio, Images, Videos and more...

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

  • Highlighting Japan: The online magazine is published once a month by the Japanese Government to help readers better understand Japan today.
  • Nipponia: A quarterly Web magazine that introduces modern Japan to people all over the world.
  • TV Japan: The official website for TV JAPAN, the only Japanese broadcasting channel in North America airing 24/7.

Image Collections

Video Collections

  • Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language Japanese and material type DVD.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

Bilingual books?

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books Japanese AND English

Japanese Translation Tools

Online Dictionaries


Goo Online Dictionary

Denshi Jisho

Japanese Kanji Dictionary

Verb Conjugators


Verbix: Japanese Language

Print Dictionaries


To find a monolingual Japanese dictionary or a Japanese/ English Dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords Japanese Language Dictionaries (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

Websites