Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: German

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

Browsing?

Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for German language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

  • PF3001-5999 German Language
  • PT1-PT4897 German Literature
  • PT1-80 Literary history and criticism
  • PT1151-1241 German Poetry
  • PT1501-2688 Individual authors or works

The Heilliggeistkirche (Church of the Holy Spirit) in Heidelberg. Courtesy of CIA WorldFact Book

Other helpful guides

Bilingual books?

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books German AND English

Language Lessons and Grammar Guides

Audio, Video, Images, and more...

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

  • German Newspapers: A collection of German Language newspapers and magazines available online.
  • German as a Foreign Language: A fully-refereed academic journal which aims to promote research and teaching in the field of German Language.
  • German Music: A collection of resources on the study of German music.

Images Collections

  • German History in Documents and Images: a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
  • WorldImages: An image database from the California State University IMAGE Project. Great resource for images worldwide. Includes art and life images.
  • Fotogalerie: A collection of photographs related to German language and culture.

Video Collections

  • Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language German and material type DVD.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

German Translation Tools

Online Dictionaries


LEO Deutsch-Englisches Wörterbuch

dict.cc

Schneider English-German

Verb Conjugators


Verbix: Germanic Languages

Print Dictionaries


To find a German or German/English dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords German Language Dictionaries. (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

Websites