Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: French

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

Browsing?

Want to browse the stacks on the second floor for French language and literature materials.

Try these call number ranges:

  • DC33-39.3 French Social Life & Customs (3rd Floor)
  • GR160-162.5 French Folklore (3rd Floor)
  • PC2001-3761 French Language
  • PQ1100-3999 French Literature
  • PQ1-771 History and criticism (French Literature)

Shops in the town of Cognac, where the famous brandy (distilled wine) was first developed. Courtesy of CIA WorldFact Book.

Other helpful guides

Bilingual books?

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books French AND English

Language Lessons and Grammar Guides

Audio, Images, Videos and more...

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

  • Le Monde: One of the most widely read French newspapers.
  • Le Figaro : The oldest and second-largest national newspaper in France founded in 1826 and published in Paris.
  • Revues: scholarly journals in French.

Image Collections

  • Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France):  Images from the collections of the national library of France. (In French.)
  • WorldImages: An image database from the California State University IMAGE Project. Great resource for images worldwide. Includes art and life images.

Video Collections

  • Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language French and material type DVD.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

French Translation Tools

Online Dictionaries


Word Reference: French

Reverso Online Dictionaries

Collins French Dictionary

Verb Conjugators


Word Reference: French Conjugation

La Conjugaison

Print Dictionaries


To find an French or French/English dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords French Language Dictionaries. (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

Websites