Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: Chinese

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

Browsing?

Want to Browse the stacks on the second floor for Chinese language and literature materials?

Try these call number ranges:

  • PL1001-3208 Chinese language and literature
  • PL1001-1960 Chinese language
  • PL2250-3208 Chinese literature
  • PL2250-2443 History and criticism
  • PL2661-2979 Individual authors and works

The Mao Zedong Mausoleum (or Chairman Mao Memorial Hall) was constructed in 1977 on Tiananmen Square in Beijing. Mao's body lies in a crystal casket for public viewing. Courtesy of CIA WorldFact Book.

Other helpful guides

Language Lessons and Grammar Guides

Audio, Images, Videos and more...

Radio, Television, and Newspapers

  • ChinaSite.com: A listing of Chinese language magazines available online.
  • Chinese Internet Radio: A listing of online news radio, talk, information programs, and music programs featuring music in Chinese.

Image Collections

 

  • WorldImages: An image database from the California State University IMAGE Project. Great resource for images worldwide. Includes art and life images.

Video Collections

  • Gumberg Library: The library has a collection of foreign language films. You can search the library catalog using the guided search feature in order to limit by language Chinese and material type DVD.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: The Main Library in Oakland as well as some of the branch libraries have an extensive foreign film collections that can be checked out.

Bilingual books?

Looking for bilingual books so that you can practice your reading skills?

Try a search in Google using this search phrase:

Bilingual OR dual language books

You can also throw in a language. For example:

Bilingual OR dual language books Chinese AND English

Chinese Translation Tools

Online Dictionaries


Online Mandarin-English dictionary

Chinese Character Dictionary

Print Dictionaries


To find a monolingual Chinese dictionary or a Chinese/English Dictionary, search the Online Catalog using the keywords Chinese Language Dictionaries (Tips For Searching the Online Catalog).

Websites