Skip to main content

Modern Languages and Literatures: Int'l Cinema

A guide to resources for research in Modern Languages & Literatures.

International Cinema at Duquesne

Series Description

2013 Human Rights Film Series

Featuring 7 award-winning films focusing on some of the most critical human rights issues of our times.

Plus presentations by experts and opinion leaders

Free and open to the public.

All films will be shown at 7:00 pm in 105 College Hall.

Parking information and campus map

Online International Cinema Research

Below are a few websites that offer reviews, interviews, director/actor biographies, and bibliographies for further study in international cinema.

General

  • Film International: This online equivalent of the print journal features both original articles and selections from the print text.  Topics range from film analyses and reviews to research pieces on directors as well as national cinemas.
  • IMDb: A great source for quick information on films, directors and actors. Information retrieved here should be confirmed with a second source.
  • Senses of Cinema : "An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema," the site offers extensive and well-documented information on films and filmmakers from around the world.  Note the interview section, the research article section, and the reviews of recent books related to film and film studies.
  • KinoEye: New Perspectives on European Film: "Kinoeye aims to explore European film using a number of different writing styles: film reviews, festival overviews, interviews with directors or other industry players, career overviews, analytical articles, reviews of recent VHS/DVD releases, book reviews and book extracts, translated articles from other journals..."  Authors include scholars as well as journalists.

African Films

Middle Eastern Films

  • Arab Cinema Directory: An electronic directory of the Mediterranean Arab cinema and dedicated to people working in the field of cinema as well as cinema amateurs

Chinese Films

  • Dianying.com: "A searchable database of films made in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other regions from 1905 to present. Available in both Chinese and English"
  • Film in China: Published by the China Internet Information Center under the auspices of the State Council Information Office and the China International Publishing Group in Beijing

French Films

  • IMDB: France: Use the Internet Movie Databases country browser feature to locate information specifically related to French film

German Films

  • Germany Info - Film: This site, created by the U.S. German Embassy, provides a helpful overview of the history of German cinema, along with some information about the current state of the country's cinema. Also includes many links to useful sites in English and German
  • The German-Hollywood Connection : Essays on German films, filmmakers and stars, as well as essays exploring the influence of German film on Hollywood. Includes a list of links to other sites about German cinema

Italian Films

Japanese Films

Spanish and Latino Films

  • Cubacine: A great resource for information on the history Cuban cinematography

Local Foreign Film Collections