Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Deep Linking: Databases

A guide to understanding and creating deep links in popular research databases.

Confused?

If you're confused about deep linking, Ask A Librarian any time of day for help.

MAIN IDEA

Each database in this guide covers a variety of topics but some are more specific than others. Use the database that best fits the subject of your research.

NOTE

Want to know quickly which subjects a particular database covers? Click its name in the tabs at the top of the page to read about it or type Control + F and its name to highlight it on this page.

If you already have an article or eBook in mind and aren't sure which database it's in, try looking for it in QuickSearch.

Databases by topic

Here is an index which sorts the databases covered in this guide by possible research topics.

Art & Art History: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest

Business & Economics: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest, Sage, ScienceDirect

Classics: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE

Communications: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Sage, ScienceDirect

Computer Sciences & IT: ebrary, EBSCO, Ovid, Sage, ScienceDirect

Education:  ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, Sage

Engineering & Technology: ebrary, EBSCO, Ovid, ProQuest, ScienceDirect

English Literature & Language: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest

General/Multidisciplinary: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest, Sage

Health & Life Sciences: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, MD Consult, Ovid, Project MUSE, ProQuest, PubMed Central, Sage, ScienceDirect

History: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest, Sage

Journalism/News: EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest

Law: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, Sage

Literature & Languages:  ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest

Mathematics: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ScienceDirect

Medicine: ebrary, EBSCO, LexisNexis Academic, MD Consult, Ovid, Project MUSE, ProQuest, PubMed Central, Sage, ScienceDirect

Music: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE

Natural & Environmental Sciences: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, Ovid, Project MUSE, ProQuest, Sage, ScienceDirect

Philosophy & Religion: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest

Physical Sciences: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Ovid, ProQuest, Sage, ScienceDirect

Political Science: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, LexisNexis Academic, Project MUSE, ProQuest, Sage, ScienceDirect

Psychology: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest, PubMed Central, Sage, ScienceDirect

Social Sciences: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Ovid, Project MUSE, ProQuest, Sage, ScienceDirect

Women's & Ethnic Studies: ebrary, EBSCO, JSTOR, Project MUSE, Sage

There are even more topics available depending on the database. Try browsing the website to get a feel for what it covers.

NOTE

This guide focuses on the most commonly used databases. There are many more you can use.

Click here to see Gumberg Library’s entire list of databases.


EBSCO and ProQuest have multiple databases embedded inside them. If you want a complete list of EBSCOHost databases, click the "more databases" link next to EBSCOHost's search bar.

Click here to see the entire list of ProQuest's databases.

Subject Guide

David Nolfi's picture
David Nolfi
Contact:
412.396.4931