Skip to main content

Sustainability: Health & Environment: Find Background Information

Find Background Information

Before plunging into research, it is good to know the basics of your topic. Basic information that is both authoritative and reliable can most quickly be found in reference works, like general and specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Gumberg Library can provide you with many such resources in both electronic and print formats.

On this page you will find print and electronic reference works dealing with Health and the Environment. You may also want to try the current events database in the box below.

Print Reference Books

Electronic Reference Works

Click on the title of a book to access it. To use them off-campus you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

eReference Collections

Gumberg Library subscribes to a number of databases of electronic reference works. These cover all subject areas, and in some cases, contain hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other sorts of reference works. Most of these databases permit you to search all the reference works contained in them at once. This means you do not have to have in mind a particular book to search. Great for getting started with your research.

Current Events Database

CQ Researcher gives objective overviews of hot topics in the news, including environmental issues. The articles give opinions on all sides of an issue, and are good sources of statistics. A great resource for beginning research.

To use this database off-campus, you will need to enter you Multipass username and password.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability

There is no shortage of information about environmental problems and no dearth of people calling themselves experts on sustainability. In fact, there is all too much information, and strident voices with opposing claims and frightening predictions. Now, however, the Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability solves the problem of information overload. The ten-volume set includes concise overviews from experts on an array of sustainability-related topics, compiled into thematic volumes. The reader will find solid research data, thorough analyses, and jargon-free discussion, effectively transforming a fast-developing research domain.

To use a volume in this electronic reference work, just click the title of a volume below. To use these volumes off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass information when you click on a title link.