Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Presentations: Current Schedule

Information about library training sessions.

Calendar

To register, click the registration button under the session description.

Having Trouble?

Click session title to register or contact Lisa Sciulli, 412.396.5346.

Presentations by Faculty & Staff

Research Data Management Essentials

Do you create data in the course of your research? Do you share data, or use others’ data? This hands-on workshop for faculty and grad students focuses on best practices for managing research data, from workflows and file naming to storage and preservation. We’ll also discuss data management plans and funder requirements for data sharing.

Co-Sponsored by the Office of Research.

Presenters:

Cathryn Miller, MA, MLIS, Visiting Social Sciences Librarian

Rebekah Miller, MLIS, STEM Librarian

Gesina Phillips, MA, MLIS, Digital Scholarship Librarian

Date & Time:

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

3:05-4:20 p.m.

Location:

Gumberg 408

REGISTER HERE


Basic EndNote

Join us for a basic overview of EndNote x8, a citation management tool available for free to Duquesne students and faculty. We’ll explore different ways to add references, set up Find Full Text to automatically import full text versions of your articles into EndNote, and create a sync account to access your citations anywhere. We’ll also show you how to insert citations directly into your papers as you write using the Microsoft World plug-in. You can either come with EndNote pre-installed to follow along on your own device or simply watch the demonstration and practice on your own at home.

Dates: Monday, January 22, 2018 and Monday, February 12, 2018

Time: 4:00-5:00pm

Location: Library Room 202

Register for 1/22 Here   Register for 2/12 Here

Advanced EndNote

Come delve deeper into more advanced functions in EndNote x8, which includes sharing libraries, organizing your citations into smart groups, annotating PDFs, advanced Word plug-in functions, and backing up your library (just in case!) Please come with EndNote x8 pre-installed on your laptop and a basic understanding of the program. (Having attended Basic EndNote is not a prerequisite, but preferred!)

Date: Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Time: 4:00-5:00pm

Location: Library Room 202

Register for 3/14 Here


Programs will be presented in 408 Gumberg Library unless otherwise noted.

Please confirm your attendance at events by registering in advance.

Search Like an Expert: Building Comprehensive Search Strategies for Systematic Reviews

 

Standards for systematic and other advanced reviews specify that you should search several databases, and that you should customize the search strategies for each database. This process can be quite challenging because databases have varying search options and syntax as well as sometimes disparate controlled vocabularies. This workshop will include demonstrations and hands-on activities to help you learn how to build comprehensive search strategies based on your research question. The workshop will also include guidance on how to “convert” a search created for one database into a search for other databases. The presenters recommend that you attend “Systematic Reviews: 5 Things You Need to Know” before attending this workshop.

 

Presenters:

David A. Nolfi, MLS, AHIP, Health Sciences Librarian & Library Assessment Coordinator
Gesina Phillips, MLIS, MA, Digital Scholarship Librarian

Date & Time:

Wednesday, November 8, 2017
10:00 – 11:30 a.m.

Location:

Rockwell Hall 308

REGISTER HERE

Systematic Reviews: 5 Things You Need to Know

This workshop is designed for faculty and graduate students considering doing systematic reviews or using systematic reviews in teaching. The presenters will explain the differences between systematic reviews, other advanced reviews, and traditional literature reviews. This hands-on workshop will help you begin working on the process of preparing, planning, executing, and writing systematic reviews. The presenters will also address practical considerations including selecting databases and creating comprehensive literature searches as well as managing and reviewing large numbers of results. Co-sponsored by Gumberg Library and the Center for Teaching Excellence.

This workshop is designed for in-person participation only. We are planning a separate version for online participants (more information coming soon).

Presenters:

David A. Nolfi, MLS, AHIP, Health Sciences Librarian & Library Assessment Coordinator
Rebekah Miller, MLIS, STEM Librarian

Date & Time:

Wednesday, October 4, 2017
3:00 – 4:30 p.m.

Location:

Fisher Hall 600

REGISTER HERE


 

Have a Suggestion?

Would you like to know more about a particular resource such as...

  • Academic Search Elite?
  • Scopus?
  • PubMed?

Let us know!

Suggest a session here.

Facebook icon     Twitter Icon     Instagram Icon     Tumblr Icon     YouTube Icon