Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Presentations: Past Presentations

Information about library training sessions.

Session Descriptions

Advanced RefWorks

After attending “Getting Started With RefWorks,” come learn more about additional features, adding in-text citations and footnotes with Write-n-Cite, and how to format a paper and bibliography from within RefWorks.

Art, Health, and Culture: A Panel Discussion (part of the Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery in Ex-Votos Exhibit)

The panelists will put ex-votos and the poster exhibit in context as they speak about spirituality in sickness, transcultural views of illness, and how individuals make meaning of suffering. Following the presentation, attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions and view the exhibit. The library will provide beverages and light snacks.

Assessing Information Literacy at the Program Level  CTE

Information literacy is the set of abilities required to recognize when information is needed and then locate, evaluate, and effectively use the needed information. Although this concept might seem universal, teaching and assessing information literacy at the program level takes on many different forms in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  The presenters will describe their work to document and assess undergraduate information literacy learning in the English, Psychology, and Biology programs. Each of these disciplines presents unique challenges in regard to incorporating information literacy into coursework as well as what information literacy means on a program level and how students apply it with the context of their majors. A panel discussion will follow the presentations.

Citation Management Software Sampler

Citation management software can save you time, help you keep your research organized, and sometimes even help you connect with others who have similar research interests.  There are many citation managers available, either free or for a fee, each with its own strengths. This presentation will demonstrate four of the most widely used citation managers and help you decide which would best meet your needs. This is not a hands-on training session, but will review the basic features of RefWorks, Mendeley, Zotero, and EasyBib and the audience for each.

Copyright Essentials @ Duquesne

A fundamental understanding of copyright is essential for both teaching and research. This 60 minute presentation will introduce Duquesne’s copyright policy and fair use guidelines. The presentation will also provide practical tips for posting course reserves material and for obtaining material for teaching and scholarship, including an analysis of the recent Georgia State e-reserves case.

Copyright for Instructors: Opportunities & Considerations

Basic understanding of copyright is essential for both online and classroom instructors. This 75 minute workshop will introduce Duquesne’s copyright policy and fair use guidelines.

Creating Effective Research Assignments  CTE

Do you ask your students to use secondary research in their assignments, or are you interested in learning more about creating research assignments? This workshop will show what obstacles students experience in researching and how faculty can help students overcome those difficulties. We will focus on both assignment design and instruction that can create better results in the research assignments your students produce.

Discover Literati: A New Tool for Teaching

Uncover the secrets of Literati and unlock its potential for your students! This introductory session is tailored for those who teach, tutor or remain insatiably curious. Literati by CREDO presents as a modern and credible alternative to Wikipedia. Supported by excellent reference content, e-books, and topic pages, Literati is a great tool for any user and can be especially helpful for those students studying topics in English or Literature.

Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship

The workshop's goal is to help faculty members applying for promotion and tenure to make the case for excellence in scholarship by using tools such as citation analysis, journal metrics, and other methods. Newer faculty who are just starting to publish can also benefit by using these tools to develop effective publishing strategies. Following the presentation, participants will have hands-on opportunities to use the tools and begin documenting the impact of their own scholarship. The workshop will conclude with a faculty-led discussion about using scholarship data in the promotion and tenure process. Cosponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence and Gumberg Library. 

eBook eVolution: Opportunities, Challenges, and Solutions for Teaching and Learning

Gumberg Library currently provides access to more than 85,000 electronic books. This list continues to grow, as more and more publishers choose to publish eBooks. The goal of this workshop is to provide an overview of the current eBook environment, showcase the Gumberg Library’s eBook collections, and demonstrate how you can use eBooks in your courses. Participants will have hands-on opportunities to search the Gumberg Library’s eBook collections as well as learn how to download eBooks. This workshop is open to all faculty, teaching assistants, and individuals who handle departmental technology support.

EndNote Basics

Get a basic overview of EndNote citation management software. This session will provide an introduction to EndNote desktop which works in conjunction with EndNote online. EndNote gives users the ability to import, store, and organize references and format them in thousands of different citation styles. It also allows users to store and annotate pdf files. EndNote includes a plug-in for word processing programs for formatting in-citations and bibliographies. This software is available at the DU computer store for personal and departmental license, and the university is currently considering a campus-wide license.

Explore Zotero

“Grab your research with a single click!” Come explore Zotero, a free online citation manager and research tool. This class will teach you the basics of Zotero, from grabbing citations off the web to creating bibliographies from a list of resources. A great alternative to RefWorks, learning the basics of Zotero will help you decide which citation manager is right for you.

Getting Started with RefWorks

Keep track of your research and create bibliographies with RefWorks, an online bibliographic management tool that is FREE to all Duquesne users.  We'll show you how to create an account, create and import references, and generate a bibliography.

Google Scholar

This session will focus on how to use Google Scholar as a supplement to library research through a demonstration of advanced search features. Participants will learn how to make their searching more precise and how to set up access to Duquesne’s resources through Google Scholar at home. We will also discuss some advantages and disadvantages of using Google Scholar for academic research.

Gumberg for Graduate Students

Graduate students are invited to learn what services and resources your library has to offer in one of these 60 min. orientation sessions.

Haunted Duquesne

Archivist Tom White, author of many books focusing on the supernatural history of Pennsylvania, will share ghost stories and legends about Duquesne and the Pittsburgh area. Ghost stories and legends of the university and surrounding neighborhoods will not only be told, but discussed for their deeper historical, cultural and sociological meanings.

Introducing ebrary

With over 70,000 full-text electronic books, ebrary can be a powerful tool for teachers and researchers alike. The session “Introducing ebrary” will demonstrate how to get the most out of ebrary whether you are using a personal computer, ipad, or personal e-reader.

Introduction to Scopus

Scopus is Gumberg Library's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research. Try Scopus if you need a comprehensive resource in the Life & Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, or Social Sciences & Humanities. Scopus enables you to do citation searching, determine author impact, and compare journal metrics. This presentation will cover the types and formats of literature indexed in Scopus, basic search techniques, and how to use the author and journal metrics available in Scopus.

iPad App-y New Year!

Did you just get a new iPad? Or, do you use your iPad mostly to play Words with Friends and Candy Crush? Want to begin the New Year by getting more organized? Get started using your iPad with a few popular and free productivity tools. We will look at Evernote and Dropbox in this hands-on workshop. Bring your own device or borrow one of the library’s iPads. Space is limited. RSVP by Jan. 31 and indicate whether or not you will be bringing your own iPad. Users will have an opportunity to share their favorite apps and learn more about the campus iPad Users’ Group.

Evernote - Evernote lets you take notes, capture photos, create to-do lists, record voice reminders--and makes these notes completely searchable, whether you are at home, at work, or on the go.

DropBox - Dropbox lets you bring all your photos, docs, and videos anywhere and share them easily. Access any file you save to your Dropbox from all your computers, iPhone, iPad and even the Dropbox website.

LexisNexis Academic Overview

Learn the basics about this multidisciplinary database that can help you save valuable research time by offering quick, easy access to more than 17,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources.  LexisNexis Academic provides access to legal-research sources including full text of articles from law reviews and journals, federal and state cases and statutes, U.S. Supreme Court Decisions since 1790, federal regulations, tax materials, and over 1,500 legal periodicals. It includes patents from 1790 forward. It offers full text business resources such as Securities Exchange Commission filings and reports. It also offers extensive news coverage from more than 2,500 newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters, local, national, and international sources, wire services, transcripts from major television and radio networks, as well as premium blogs, video blogs and Twitter feeds.

Lunch and Learn: Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery in Ex-Votos

This presentation will give you a chance to learn more about the National Library of Medicine “Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery in Ex-Votos” exhibit being hosted at Gumberg Library this summer. Ex-votos are devotional paintings created to give thanks for miraculous healings. The event will include a brief presentation about ex-votos, and attendees will have the opportunity to review the exhibit. Attendees may bring their lunches and the library will provide beverages and cookies.

Open Access Week 2016: Open Access, Open Data, and the Institutional Repository: Panel and Q&A

An introduction to open access, open data, and institutional repositories, featuring panelists from the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University. Lauren Collister (Pitt) will begin by discussing the Open movement in higher education and its benefits for
scholars. David Scherer (CMU) will focus on the role of the institutional repository in making research openly available. Gina Peirce (Pitt) will speak about the experience of using her university’s institutional repository to publish an open dataset to accompany her master’s thesis in Linguistics.

Open Access Week 2016: The Power of Open: A Presentation and Q&A with Heather Joseph (SPARC)

Heather Joseph, Executive Director of SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), will speak about the opportunities and challenges of opening up access to educational materials and research outputs, and discuss ways that libraries have been successful in this world of Open resources.

Predatory Publishing: What You Don't Know CAN Hurt You...

A growing number of new publishers are inviting researchers and recent Ph.D. graduates to publish their work in journals of questionable value. These “predatory publishers” often present themselves as reputable publishers and then charge fees in order to get the author’s work published. Predatory publishers mimic the business models of well-respected Open Access journals, making them difficult to recognize. This workshop is aimed at faculty and graduate students looking to publish their research. Its goals are to help you understand predatory publishing and recognize predatory publishing inquiries. The presenters will discuss ways that you can investigate the reputations of publishers and journals as well as how you can combat predatory publishing in the context of your own discipline or profession.

Raising Your Scholarly Profile

This interactive workshop's goal is to help faculty members and graduate students raise their scholarly profiles and increase the impact of their work. Through a combination of brief presentations and group work, faculty will identify strategies to improve the discoverability of their research, publicize their scholarship to relevant stakeholders, take part in scholarly conversations using social media, and measure the impact of individual publications. (Co-sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence)

RefWorks for APA Citation Style 

Want to know more about using APA Citation Style in RefWorks? Attend this RefWorks session designed specifically for researchers who use APA Style. We will briefly review RefWorks basics (how to create an account, add references, and generate a bibliography), then demonstrate advanced features. You will learn how to format a paper with in-text citations and a reference list using Write-n-Cite.  There will also be tips on how to locate DOIs and ensure citations are in proper APA style.

RefWorks for Chicago Style

Want to know more about using Chicago Citation Style in RefWorks? Attend this RefWorks session designed specifically for researchers who use Chicago Style. We will briefly review RefWorks basics (how to create an account, create and import references, and generate a bibliography), then demonstrate advanced features. You will learn how to format a paper and bibliography from within RefWorks, and how to add in-text citations and footnotes with Write-n-Cite, all using Chicago Style.

RefWorks for MLA Style

Want to know more about using MLA Citation Style in RefWorks? Attend this RefWorks session designed specifically for researchers who use MLA Style. We will briefly review RefWorks basics (how to create an account, create and import references, and generate a bibliography), then demonstrate advanced features. You will learn how to format a paper and bibliography from within RefWorks, and how to add in-text citations and create a bibliography with Write-n-Cite, all using MLA Style.

Research the Bible with Oxford Biblical Studies Online

This 60 minute workshop will be presented for members of the Duquesne community interested in learning more about the books of the Bible, their historical contexts and meaning. Oxford Biblical Studies Online contains five translations of the Bible published by Oxford, and study notes from six popular study Bibles. It also provides access to two concordances, a dozen well-respected works of biblical reference, and over 1,000 searchable images.

SciFinder Chemistry Database Training

SciFinder enables you to identify the latest, most relevant chemical research. More than 33 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula.  SciFinder Mobile allows researchers to use smartphones to access CAS databases. SciFinder Mobile is not restricted by IP address and there are no special apps to download. You will learn about these features and more.

Social Media: Managing Your Online Identity

This workshop will help students recognize the potential pitfalls and perks of their social media use. Topics covered: Developing professional social media content – What’s appropriate, what’s TMI, and how to clean up your online image; Professional outlets for personal expression – send the right message!; Using social media to your advantage by promoting your personality and creativity to a wider online network; Expanding your professional network through such outlets as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or blogging; Making a good impression 24/7 – know your privacy settings, limitations, and what comes up when you’re searched.

What You Really Need to Know about PubMed

This workshop is designed to help interested faculty and graduate students learn how to search PubMed@Duquesne more efficiently and completely. The workshop will address how to create effective search strategies using Boolean operators, filters, MeSH, and Topic-Specific Queries. We will also demonstrate several ways to easily access full-text articles, and provide additional information on the differences between PubMed, PubMed Central, and MEDLINE.

Zotero Basics

A bring-your-own device session designed to teach participants the basics of Zotero, an open source citation management program. Topics to cover include: downloading the program, overview of basic interface and library view, adding the browser extension, adding references, attaching files, methods of organization, syncing to the web, and creating formatted citations.

Past Presentations (2015-2016)

Spring 2016

February 2016

12 -- Zotero Basics, 10-11:15 a.m.

15 -- EndNote Basics, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

18 -- EndNote Hands-On PC, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

22 -- EndNote Hands-On Mac, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

March 2016

10 -- Zotero Basics, 4:30-5:45 p.m.

14 -- EndNote Basics, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

17 -- EndNote Hands-On PC, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

21 -- EndNote Hands-On Mac, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

April 2016

5 -- Zotero Basics, 4:30-5:45 p.m.

11 -- EndNote Basics, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

14 -- EndNote Hands-On PC, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

18 -- EndNote Hands-On Mac, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

May 2016

-- Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship, 11-12:30 p.m.

Fall 2015

September 2015

14 -- EndNote Basics

17 -- EndNote Hands-On PC

18 -- Raising Your Scholarly Profile

21 -- EndNote Hands-On Mac

October 2015

15 -- Zotero Basics

20 -- Zotero Basics

27 -- Haunted Duquesne

November 2015

4 -- Zotero Basics

20 -- Zotero Basics

Spring 2015

January 2015

26 -- Predatory Publishing: What You Don’t Know CAN Hurt You…

27 -- EndNote Basics

February 2015

24 -- EndNote Basics

March 2015

31 -- EndNote Basics

April 2015

28 -- EndNote Basics

May 2015

7 -- Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship

Past Presentations (2010-2014)

2014

January 2014

28 -- Citation Management Software Sampler

30 -- Citation Management Software Sampler

February 2014

-- Social Media: Managing Your Online Identity

-- iPad App-y New Year!

20 -- EndNote Basics

25 -- Explore Zotero

March 2014

19 -- Explore Zotero

24 -- EndNote Basics

26 -- Explore Zotero

31 -- EndNote Basics

April 2014

-- Social Media: Managing Your Online Identity

22 -- Explore Zotero

23 -- EndNote Basics

28 -- EndNote Basics

May 2014

-- Explore Zotero

8-- Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship

8 -- Predatory Publishing: What You Don't Know CAN Hurt You

June 2014

20 -- Transitioning from RefWorks to EndNote

23 -- EndNote Basics

24 -- EndNote Basics

30 -- Lunch and Learn: Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery in Ex-Votos

July 2014

17 -- Art, Health, and Culture: A Panel Discussion (part of the Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery in Ex-Votos Exhibit)

September 2014

12 -- Copyright Essentials @ Duquesne

15 -- EndNote Basics

17 -- EndNote Basics

24 -- Explore Zotero

October 2014

20 -- EndNote Basics

22 -- EndNote Basics

29 -- EndNote Basics

November 2014

10 -- EndNote Basics

12 -- EndNote Basics

19 -- EndNote Basics

2013

February 2013

13 -- Google Scholar

19 -- Google Scholar

March 2013

1 -- eBook eVolution: Opportunities, Challenges, and Solutions for Teaching and Learning

15 -- LexisNexis Academic Overview

19 -- Introduction to Scopus

22 -- What You Really Need to Know  about PubMed

April 2013

5 -- Copyright Essentials @ Duquesne

16 -- Introduction to Scopus

May 2013

2 -- Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship

September 2013

10 -- Gumberg for Graduate Students

17 -- Discover Literati: A New Tool for Teaching

23 -- RefWorks for APA Citation Style24 -- RefWorks for MLA Citation Style

26 -- SciFinder Chemistry Database Training

October 2013

 8 -- Creating Effective Research Assignments

29 -- Assessing Information Literacy at the Program Level

30 -- Haunted Duquesne

November 2013

12 -- Citation Management Software Sampler

15 -- Copyright Essentials at Duquesne

2012

February 2012

 7 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

14 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

17 -- Researching the Bible with Oxford Biblical Studies Online

23 -- Advanced RefWorks

24 -- Copyright for Instructors: Opportunities & Considerations

March 2012

13 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

15 -- Introducing ebrary

22 -- Google Scholar

29 -- Advanced RefWorks

April 2012

11 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

18 -- Introducing ebrary

26 -- Advanced RefWorks

May 2012

3 -- Documenting the Impact of Your Scholarship

September 2012

11 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

11 -- Gumberg for Graduate Students

12 -- Gumberg for Graduate Students

October 2012

 2 -- RefWorks for Chicago Citation Style

 9 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

11 -- RefWorks for APA Citation Style

18 -- Advanced RefWorks

29 -- RefWorks for MLA Citation Style

November 2012

  6 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

  7 -- Google Scholar

  8 -- Advanced RefWorks

2011

September 2011

7 -- Gumberg for Graduate Students

8 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

12 -- Advanced RefWorks

19 -- What You Need to Know About RefWorks 2.0

22 -- What You Need to Know About RefWorks 2.0 (repeat session)

October 2011

6 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

10 -- Advanced RefWorks

17 -- What You Need to Know About RefWorks 2.0

November 2011

10 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

14 -- Advanced RefWorks

December 2011

1 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

5 -- Advanced RefWorks

2010

February 2010

11 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

15 -- RefWorks for Thesis and Dissertation Writers

17 -- Using the NEW PubMed Effectively

March 2010

11 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

15 -- RefWorks for Thesis and Dissertation Writers

22 -- Keeping up with Google Scholar – Legal Materials and Patents

23 -- Book Study: My Word! Plagiarism and College Culture

25 -- ArtStor: See What's in Store

April 2010

 9 --  Documenting the Impact of your Scholarship

15 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

19 -- RefWorks for Thesis and Dissertation Writers

September 2010

 8 -- Gumberg for Graduate Students

 9 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

10 -- DuCat Basics

13 -- Advanced RefWorks

October 2010

 4 -- Perspectives on Preparing Undergraduates for Research

 7 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

11 -- Advanced RefWorks

19 -- Scopus Basics

November 2010

 4 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

 8 -- Advanced RefWorks

December 2010

 2 -- Getting Started with RefWorks

 6 -- Advanced RefWorks