Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

Justice, Peace and the Integrity of Creation: E-Reference

Electronic Reference Works

Electronic Reference Works

Reference books are great sources of basic information on all topics. Through this page you can access online services providing the content from collections of reference works. You can also access individual reference works arranged by subject. To access the materials, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password. You may also need to have cookies enabled on your computer to read some of the texts.

 

Collections of E-Reference Works

In this box are links to subsctiption services that permit you to search multiple electronic reference works at the same time. When you click on a link you will be asked to enter your Multipass username and password.

Other E-Reference Works

Justice

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

 

Peace

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict

Handbook of Building Cultures of Peace

Violence Assessment and Intervention: The Practitioner's Handbook

 

Integrity of Creation

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy

The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History

Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Culture: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Health: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Issues and Debates: An A-to-Z Guide

Green Politics: An A-to-Z Guide

Handbook of Environmental Policy Evaluation

Handbook of Environmental Sociology

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics

Oxford Handbook of Religion and Ecology

 

Other

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Collins Dictionary of Economics

Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science

The Development Dictionary: A Guide to Knowledge as Power, 2nd ed.

Encyclopedia of Global Industries, 4th ed.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion

Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology

Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed.

Key Concepts in Social Research

New Catholic Encyclopedia

New Catholic Encyclopedia: Jubilee Volume, The Wojtyla Years

New Catholic Encyclopedia, Supplement 2009

New Catholic Encyclopedia, Supplement 2010

New Encyclopedia of Africa

Using Wikipedia

Using Wikipedia is an easy and convenient way to begin gaining a working knowledge of a topic. If you choose to use it, be aware that there are two serious flaws with Wikipedia. The first is that anyone can write articles for it. You do not have to be an expert on a subject. The second is that anyone can edit the articles. Again, you do not have to be an expert on the subject. These two points raise doubts as to the accuracy of what you read there. Because of the problems regarding the authority of the writers of Wikipedia articles, gain what information you can from them, but do not use Wikipedia as a source for academic writing. Instead, use the reference works that you can get to through this page. Articles in them have been written by experts, and the works have all gone through an editorial process to insure accuracy.