Skip to main content

Gumberg Library Overview: Giving to Gumberg

Giving to Gumberg

Give to Gumberg Library – Supporting the Spirit of Learning

The Gumberg Library collaborates with the University Advancement office to identify targeted areas of need and special projects where additional funds and continued support would be most beneficial. To determine where your gift can make the greatest impact, please read about the library’s current initiatives. After your thoughtful consideration, please visit the University’s secure website to designate a gift for the library.

Current Special Initiatives

Dr. Albert C. Labriola Memorial Fund

At the time of his death, Dr. Labriola was the acting dean of the McAnulty College of Liberal Arts. He was a professor of English at Duquesne University from 1970-2009, during which time he received the designation of Distinguished University Professor.

Dr. Labriola wished for gifts in his memory to benefit the Gumberg Library. If you would like to contribute, you may make a gift online, or download a pledge card and send your gift by mail. Be sure to designate your gift to the Dr. Albert C. Labriola Memorial Fund. For more information, contact Bernadette Krueger in the development office at 412.396.4936 or krueger@duq.edu. This fund will become an endowment when it reaches the $25,000 threshold.

Creating an Endowment

An endowment leaves a living legacy that continues year after year and will be treasured by generations of Duquesne students and faculty. Creating an endowment begins with a minimum donation of $25,000. If you are interested in knowing more about library funding opportunities contact Kristin McCarty, Director of Organizational Relations, University Advancement, at 412.396.6046 or mccartyk@duq.edu. Initiatives the library is seeking funding for are:

  • Joseph T. Brennan Endowment. Administered by the School of Education, this fund supports the purchase of Prek-12 level reading materials for the Maureen P. Sullivan Curriculum Center.
  • Library Endowment. This fund supports library collections long term and generates an annual distribution used for purchases.

Digital Initiatives

The ongoing digital initiatives at Gumberg Library highlight the history of the university and share the works of Duquesne students with scholars around the world. Scholars may view the writings of a Spiritan founder or consult theses and dissertations from Duquesne graduate students. Alumni will find a collection of images from Duquesne's past and view these other collections.

  • Pittsburgh Catholic What better record of Catholicism in Pittsburgh is there than the diocesan newspaper The Pittsburgh Catholic? From the library's microfilm copy, a professional scanning company digitized the earliest years of the Pittsburgh Catholic from 1844-1864. With plans to digitize the next 20 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic well underway, the early record of Catholicism in Pittsburgh will be accessible as never before. You can help grow the library's digital collections with a financial contribution to the library's digital initiatives fund. For more information, please contact the library's administration office at 412.396.6136.
  • Digital Duke Through the generosity of alumni and students the library met the fund-raising goal to digitize all microfilm reels of the Duke from March 1925-April 2010.With this first phase accomplished, all of the Digital Duke is now keyword searchable and is available for viewing. Future donations to this initiative will help digitize the Holy Ghost College Bulletin (1894-1911) and the Duquesne Monthly (1911-1948), precursors to the Duke and the Duquesne Magazine.

Special Needs

  • Early English Books Online makes instantly available every book printed in England before 1641, and tens of thousands of others published before 1700—every play from the age of Shakespeare, documents shedding light on the conflict between traditionalist Catholicism and reformationist Protestantism, and much of the thinking that defines the Renaissance. This online version allows scholars quicker access to a wider variety of these treasures.

Gifts of any size can make a difference

  • Gumberg Library Materials Gifts Donations to this fund enable the library to purchase books, CDs, DVDs, scores and other items. Memorial gifts are noted with customized book plates.
  • Student Scholarship was founded by Gumberg Library employees as part of Duquesne University’s previous Capital Campaign, to recognize the contributions of student workers to the accomplishment of the library’s mission. Any student aide currently employed in the library who has been employed in the library for two or more terms and plans to return to work in the library the following term is eligible to apply. Fundraising for the scholarship endowment is ongoing. Gift information is available on the University’s website. Anyone wishing to contribute should specify that their gift is intended for the Gumberg Library Student Endowed Scholarship.
  • Adopt-A-Book is a way to purchase a book for the Gumberg Library as a tribute or memorial for a friend or loved one. It is the perfect way to thank a favorite professor, celebrate a birthday or life event, or honor a classmate or family member. The demand for academic books exceeds the budget, and the Gumberg Library depends upon gifts to close this gap. A book is a lasting legacy that will help current and future Duquesne scholars.

Naming Opportunities

  • Carrels
  • Study Rooms
  • Renovated Areas

Donating Materials to the Gumberg Library

If you are interested in donating materials to the Gumberg Library, please contact the Head of Collection Management, Tracie Ballock, at 412.396.4560 or ballockt@duq.edu. In general the library does not accept large collections without prior discussion with the Collection Management Librarian. Small gifts of less than ten books (approx.) may be dropped off at the library. Donors in either case will be asked to complete a Donor Agreement form.

Learn more about Gumberg Library’s initiatives by reading the latest issue of the Donor Newsletter