The University Archives appraises, collects, arranges, preserves and makes accessible records of permanent value which document the mission, history, work and organization of Duquesne University. It serves as a centralized repository for historical information about the University’s schools, departments, people, events, buildings and activities.
The personal papers and library of the former Pennsylvania State Supreme Court justice, congressman, and author. Documents include papers from Musmanno’s time as a defense attorney in the Sacco & Vanzetti trial, judge in the Nuremburg Trials, witness in the case against Adolf Eichmann, and interviews with Hitler’s associates. The collection also covers papers related to campaigns to end the Sunday Blue Laws, illegalize the Communist Party and to disband the Coal and Iron Police.
Includes the Cardinal’s addresses, papers, sermons, writings, and personal library, with substantial material from Vatican Council II.
The collection contains more than 2,600 volumes focusing on Jewish-Christian intellectual interaction and theological issues during the Middle Ages.
Catholic Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania Records
Dr. Bernard Ransil Papers
Duquesne Authors Collection
Ed King Memorial Collection
Jim Snyder Papers
John G. Mock Papers
Justice William F. Cercone Papers
Mid-Atlantic Region Music Therapy Association Records
University Catholic Club Records
University Faculty Papers
The University Archives is open to the entire Duquesne community, alumni, and the general public. Reference and research requests may be made by telephone. Documents, books and other materials housed in the University Archives and Special Collections are rare or unique and do not circulate. Archival collections are to be used only in the designated reading area. Patrons are required to use pencils while working with collections. Photocopying is permitted at the discretion of the University Archivist. Photocopies will be made by a member of the Archives staff or by patrons authorized to take materials to an appropriate copy machine in the library. They will be required to leave a form of identification with the staff until the material is returned. The University Archives reserves the right to limit the use of fragile, deteriorating, or rare material that may be further damaged by handling. However, every attempt will be made to make collections available.
The University Archives is the official repository for all non-current and inactive records of Duquesne University that are determined by the University Archivist to have enduring administrative, historic or legal value. Please contact the Archivist before your department or committee disposes of or transfers records. See The Administrative Policy, TAP#39: Records Retention Policy for more details.
The University Archives also welcomes donations of records, photographs and other materials that document Duquesne’s history. Those wishing to donate to the collections should contact the University Archivist.
Thomas White, University Archivist and Curator of Special Collections
First Floor, Gumberg Library
Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m – 4:00 p.m. (or by appointment)