LibGuides: English Literature Resources: Journal Databases

Something New! - JURN - Give it a Try

JURN is a new search engine indexing open source journals in the Humanities on the Internet. All articles found are free and full-text. See the links below to learn more about Jurn and to get to its search interface.

Journal Databases

Gumberg Library offers access to a number of periodical databases that are dedicated to or cover literature and language. Gumberg Library also offers access to a number of databases that cover the humanities, including language and literature. Many provide the full-text of articles.

All of these resources can be accessed from off-campus, but you will need to enter your Multipass username and password in order to use them.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
An indispensable reference work for English studies, with more than 960,000 records from 1892 to the present, with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material. Widely regarded as one of the most important bibliographical sources for English studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
ITER This link opens in a new window
Contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onward.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, coverage dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive with backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences that provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
For literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over 3 million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

Young Man with a Candle, by Michel Gobin. Public Domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons.

Google Scholar Preferences

How to Set Google Scholar Preferences