LibGuides: Global Health Ethics Resources: Journal Databases

Library Links

Effortless journal browsing and reading

Intuitive presentation of your subscribed titles organized with a powerful taxonomy

Click the logo to use Browzine

Journal Databases for Healthcare Ethics

Journal Databases

Because Healthcare Ethics is so multidisciplinary a field, on this page you will find links to databases in many fields. They can be used to find articles on Healthcare Ethics in the journals of many disciplines. Many of these databases provide the full-text of articles.

In order to use these databases, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

Health Sciences

Health Science Databases

PubMed @ Duquesne This link opens in a new window
Enables you to connect directly to Gumberg Library holdings via PubMed. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals; citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing; and some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier's Life Science thesaurus Embase Indexing and Emtree®.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, this database contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981, as well as complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association: health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
PMC (PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It is a small subset of PubMed. If you are starting your research, you should start with PubMed@Duquesne.

Theology & Philosophy

Theology & Philosophy Databases

Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for several journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database, an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy, and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu, contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of a growing number of philosophy journals and serials, containing over 2,300 issues and 340,000 pages of text from 53 journals and series, and most of these are not available in electronic format from any other service. Also provides publishing services.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Law, Public Affiars & Political Science

Law, Public Affairs & Political Science Databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Also includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.

Sociology

Anthropology & Sociology Databases

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
A service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. including a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications, more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education -- unique in its focus on the practical problems of society and also in that it covers both sociology and psychology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Find primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Publications are among the highest cited publications by impact factor according to the Journal Citation Reports® published by Thomson Reuters.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides 100% full-text access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
An online collection of SAGE journals that cover a wide array of interdisciplinary subject areas including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.

Research Guides

Healthcare Ethics Journals

To use these e-journals, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password when prompted.

Global Health Ethics Resources: Journal Databases

Library Links

Effortless journal browsing and reading

Journal Databases for Healthcare Ethics

Journal Databases

Health Sciences

Health Science Databases

Theology & Philosophy

Theology & Philosophy Databases

Law, Public Affiars & Political Science

Law, Public Affairs & Political Science Databases

Sociology

Anthropology & Sociology Databases

Psychology Databases

Psychology Databases

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Research Guides

Healthcare Ethics Journals

Related Links