Skip to main content

The Spiritans: A Research Guide: Finding Articles

The Spiritans: Finding Articles

Using Journal Databases

The databases listed below, which are theological in nature, may contain citations or full text of articles about the Spiritans. When searching them you may want to try these searches:

  • Spiritan* (in many journal databases, the asterisk tells the search engine to find both the singular and plural of the search term)
  • "Congregation of the Holy Spirit" (placing the string of search terms in double quotation marks forces some search engines to look for the exact phrases typed in)
  • "Congregation of the Holy Ghost"
  • "Holy Ghost Fathers"
  • The names of individual Spiritans

You do not need to capitalize your search terms when you enter them.

 

Journal Databases

To access these journal databases from off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

ATLA Religion Database with Serials

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

ProQuest Religion Database

Religious and Theological Abstracts

 

Other Sources of Articles

Bulletin General - A chronicle of the Spiritans from 1864-1975

Spiritan Articles - A collection of 86 Articles about the Spiritans (some in French, some in English)

Spiritan Horizons - A journal published by the Center for Spiritan Studies, Duquesne University

Memoire Spiritaine - A journal about Spiritan history, especially their missionary work (in French)

Our Province - Newsletter of the United States Province

Des Places & Libermann

Des Places & Libermann