Skip to main content

The Spiritans: A Research Guide: Getting Started

The Spiritans: Getting Started

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia articles are often a good way to get started with any topic. They give the basics with no frills.  The online version of the New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition, contains articles that introduce the Congregation of the Holy Spirit and its founders.

To view the articles from electronic reference books available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.

from the New Catholic Encyclopedia (available from the Gale Virtual Reference Library):

"Holy Ghost Fathers"

"Claude Francois Poullart des Places"

"Francois Marie-Paul Libermann, Ven."

from the Catholic Encyclopedia (through New Advent)

Articles are also available on the Internet from the previous edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia

"Congregation of the Holy Ghost and the Immaculate Heart of Mary"

"Ven. Francis Mary-Paul Libermann"

 

Internet Article from CatholicCulture.org

The Spiritans by Msgr. Paul E. Campbell

 

Biographies of the Founders and Histories of the Congregation

Troy, Michael J. Riches to Rags: Claude Francis Poullart des Places. Toronto, ON: Spiritans, 2005.
   Call number: BX4705 P6592 .T76 2005x, Spiritan Collection, 3rd Floor, Gumberg Library

Van Kaam, Adrian L. A Light to the Gentiles: the Life Story of the Venerable Francis Libermann. Milwaukee: Bruce, 1959.
    Call number: BX 4705 .L62 V3 1959A, 3rd Floor, Gumberg Library. Also available online on the "Electronic Texts" tab above.

Koren, Henry J. To the Ends of the Earth: A General History of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost. Pittsburgh: Duquesne University Press, 1983.
    Call number: BX3480 .K67 1983, 3rd Floor, Gumberg Library

Koren, Henry J. The Serpent and the Dove: History of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost in the United States, 1745-1984. Pittsburgh: Spiritus Press, 1985.
    Call number: BX3480 .Z5 U644 1985, 3rd Floor, Gumberg Library

 

Rule of Life

The following are two works giving the current rule under which members of the Spiritan congregation live.

Spiritan Rule of Life (3rd edition, 1987) - from the website of the Congregation of the Holy Spirit, Rome

Handbook for the Spiritan Rule of Life (1987)

 

Using Wikipedia

Using Wikipedia is an easy and convenient way to begin gaining a working knowledge of a topic. If you choose to use it, be aware that there are two serious flaws with Wikipedia. The first is that anyone can write articles for it. You do not have to be an expert on a subject. The second is that anyone can edit the articles. Again, you do not have to be an expert on the subject. These two points raise doubts as to the accuracy of what you read there. Because of the problems regarding the authority of the writers of Wikipedia articles, gain what information you can from them, but do not use Wikipedia as a source for academic writing.

Des Places & Libermann

Des Places & Libermann