Skip to main content

Vatican II: A Research Guide: Basic Information

 

Click the button above to visit the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) website, home of the Catholic Portal, a catalog of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly materials in the library collections of the over 40 member institutions of the CRRA. An ever-growing number of the items listed may contain links to the full-text!

CRRA has a growing collection of subject guides to assist users of their website in doing research. Click the link below to see these subject guides.

CRRA Subject Guides

Vatican II: Basic Information

The best place to begin researching any topic, Vatican II included, is with reference works. These will give factual treatments of a subject, providing basic information. They will present the main themes associated with a topic, so that you can begin to think about which theme you may want to deal with as you attempt to narrow your research topic to a manageable size.

 

Encyclopedia Articles (Electronic)

An authoritative resource for information on all things Catholic is the New Catholic Encyclopedia. Click on the link below to read the article on Vatican II in that resource:

Vatican Council II

From the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed.

Vatican Councils: Vatican II [First Edition]

Vatican Councils: Vatican II [Further Considerations]

 

Encyclopedia and Dictionary Articles (Print)

Kinast, Robert L. "Vatican Council II and American Catholics." Encyclopedia of American Catholic History. Ed. Michael Glazier and Thomas J. Shelley. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1997. 1422-1430. Print. Call number: BX1406.2 .E53 1997. 4th floor Gumberg Library

Levillain, Phillippe. "Vatican II (Ecumenical Council of)." The Papacy: An Encyclopedia. Vol. 3. Ed. Phillipe Levillain. New York: Routledge. 1569-1586. Print. Call number: BX955.2 .D53 2002 Vol. 3, 4th Floor Gumberg Library

Stransky, Tom. "Vatican II (1962-1965)." Dictionary of the Ecumenical Movement, 2nd ed. Ed.Nicholas Lossky, Jose Migues Bonino, John Pobee, Tom F. Stransky, Geoffrey Wainwright and Pauline Webb. Geneva: WCC Publications, 2002. 1188-1189. Print. Call number: BX6.3 .D53 2002x, 4th floor Gumberg Library

"Vatican Council II." OSV's Encyclopedia of Catholic History, Revised edition. Ed. Matthew Bunson. Huntington, IN: Our Sunday Visitor Publishing Division, 2004.942-945. Print. Call Number: BX841 .B86 2004, 4th floor Gumberg Library

 

Introductory Books

Albiergo, Giuseppe. A Brief History of Vatican II. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 2006. Print. Call Number: BX830 1962 .A55 2006, 3rd Floor Gumberg Library

Huebsch, Bill. Vatican II in Plain English. Allen, TX: Thomas Moore, 1997. Print. Call Number: BX830 1962 .H784 1997 Vols.1-3, 3rd Floor Gumberg Library

O'Sullivan, Maureen. 101 Questions and Answers on Vatican II. New York: Paulist, 2002. Print. Call Number 830 1962 .O88 2002. 3rd Floor Gumberg Library

Ratzinger, Joseph. Theological Highlights of Vatican II. New York: Paulist, 2009. Call Number: BX830 1962 .B4268 2009. Print. Call Number BX830 .B4268 2009, 3rd Floor Gumberg Library

  

 Using Wikipedia

Using Wikipedia is an easy and convenient way to begin gaining a working knowledge of a topic. If you choose to use it, be aware that there are two serious flaws with Wikipedia. The first is that anyone can write articles for it. You do not have to be an expert on a subject. The second is that anyone can edit the articles. Again, you do not have to be an expert on the subject. These two points raise doubts as to the accuracy of what you read there. Because of the problems regarding the authority of the writers of Wikipedia articles, gain what information you can from them, but do not use Wikipedia as a source for academic writing.

 

St. Peter's Basilica