LibGuides: Business Ethics: Researching Ethics

Electronic Reference Collections

Can't get to the library?

You can also access our electronic reference materials including encyclopedias and dictionaries through the links below. Note: You will have to enter your MultiPass credentials to access these resources off-campus.

Gale Virtual Library
Houses a large number of subject encyclopedias. Great place for brief overviews and concise research articles.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
Research articles that provide background information on a topic.
Sage e-Reference
Brief articles from electronic reference books.
eBook Central
A collection of electronic books in a variety of disciplines.

Reference Works

Use an encyclopedia to get a general idea of an aspect of business ethics, such as corporate governance or profit motive.

International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Call Number: BJ57 .E34 1998 C.1
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Call Number: HF5387 .E53 2008
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Business Ethics
Call Number: HD30.15 .B455 2005 VOL. 2
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
Call Number: BJ63 .E455 1998X

Research Databases

While books are excellent source for information, databases would be better for in-depth research about business ethics. The following are lists of databases from Gumberg Library that can provide more information about Business Ethics.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
The industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily.
Conference Board's Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text research reports on issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes topline US and global economic indicators, and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and working papers on economics. Provides citations for dissertations and articles in more than 620 collective volumes per year.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Publisher of the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals, as well as a strong specialist range of engineering, applied science and technology journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, including searchable and browsable tables of contents and full text articles from both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific journal collections.
KLD Research Socrates (Now MSCI ESG Manager on Campus) This link opens in a new window
Provides academic institutions with an integrated suite of tools to conduct research and analysis across a spectrum of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions. Includes: U.S. Company Archives Data, U.S. Annual Reports, International Company Data, International Company Archives Data, International Annual Reports, Institutional Holdings Data, Insider Trading Data, FactSheets, FactSheets Express, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Experian National Business Database, Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
A private, non-profit, non-partisan organization founded in 1929 dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, including coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated on a daily basis.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals published by Elsevier, Academic Press, and selected additional publishers from 1995 to present, and enables searching of abstracts of articles from more than 3,000 journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
A suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. Includes access to the following products: The Value Line Investment Survey, The Value Line Investment Survey Small and Mid-Cap Edition, The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line Special Situations Service, The Value Line Convertibles Survey, The Value Line Exchange Traded Funds Survey (ETFs) and Value Line Cost Investment.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) from January 2, 1984 to present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Search Catalog for Relevant Subjects

Search the catalog for some common key terms. These links will bring up articles, reviews, books, ebooks, dissertations, and magazine articles that are available through the Gumberg Library.

E-Books & Books

Ethics, Business and Society
Call Number: eBook
Corporate Social Responsibility and the Shaping of Global Public Policy
Call Number: eBook
Managing Corporate Ethics
Call Number: HF5387 .A4 1994
The Collaboration Economy
Call Number: eBook
Business Ethics and Corporate Sustainability
Call Number: eBook
Responsibility in World Business
Call Number: eBook