Skip to main content

U.S. Presidential Election 2016: News & Analysis

Resources for analyzing and keeping up to date with the election.

Relevant Library Resources:

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
For in-depth overviews of issues. "CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students."

LexisNexis Academic
For journalism behind a paywall. This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications with a variety of flexible search options.

View all news related to the election via this link or by entering the following search string in the search box: SUBJECT(US PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS) AND DATE>=%CURRDATE-14%

Worldwide Political Abstracts
For scholarly works on political science. "Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy." Subjects coverage: Comparative politics, Developing nations, Electoral systems,Government/Political systems, History and theory of political science, International relations, Political behavior, Political economy, Political psychology,Politics and society, Public administration.

Freely Available on the Web:

Politico

RealClearPolitics

CNN - 2016 Coverage

The Washington Post - Political Coverage

Fox News - 2016 Coverage

MSNBC - 2016 Coverage

CBS News - Political Coverage

New York Times

What to Know About the Presidential Race Today
A brief list of the top news stories related to the election, upcoming events, and an election guide containing information about candidates and their views, fact-checking, and more.

US News 2016 Coverage

The Hill

NBC News - 2016 Coverage

ProCon.org 2016 Analysis of Candidate Positions
ProCon.org provides "reliable, sourced information about where each presidential candidate stands on important issues ranging from gun control and taxes to health care and climate change."

NPR - 2016 Coverage

The Internet Archive's Political TV Ad Archive
"New, free website archives political TV ads in 2016 primaries married with fact-checking and reporting from award-winning journalism partners." The site includes "downloadable data on how often it has aired, where, and when in 20 TV markets throughout eight key primary states. In addition, the site links to fact-checking and follow-the-money journalism."

Capital Pundits
Run by a Duquesne student in partnership with The Duquesne Duke, "Capital Pundits is a website devoted to daily analysis of the 2016 presidential election and the current political climate in the United States...The project is dedicated to publishing honest, useful information that will voters in the booth. With daily commentary and analysis by Routh and other members of The Duke’s staff, Capital Pundits is meant for the average political connoisseur who wants unbiased and accurate coverage of the race for the White House."

2016 U.S. Presidential Election