LibGuides: Introduction to Marketing Research: Gumberg Library

Where to start

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains general information about business news from trade publications, scholarly journals, and corporate reports
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Similar to ABI/INFORM in providing general background information, news, and scholarly journal content. Notably, the full text of the Harvard Business Review is also included from 1922-present

Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports
Subset of ABI/INFORM provides a browsable list of industry reports by subject or location
EIU Country Data
Subset of ABI/INFORM provides economic data for selected countries in spreadsheet format
EIU Country Finance and Forecast Reports
Subset of ABI/INFORM provedes contry finance and forecast reports browsable by subject, location, and title
Just-Series Market Research Reports
Industry reports browsable by subject, industry, and title
Business Market Research Collection
Brief summaries and individual companies from Chart Maker Company Limited

Metropolitan and Micropolitan Information
Provides maps, data, and analysis of the Metropolitan Statistical Areas of the United States
Census Data and Maps
Provides U.S. Census information that can be segmented by MSA, State, Zip Code, etc. Includes business and population information
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
List of codes used to classify businesses used by the Census Bureau

Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Brief snapshot of companies including SWOT analysis, standard identifiers (SIC, NAICS, Dunn's numbers, etc.).
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
News about companies, filings, and corporate competitors
MSCI ESG Manager on Campus (formerly KLD Socrates) This link opens in a new window
Provides the environmental, social and governance reports of companies and industries. Also includes analyses of accounting and governance and intangible value of assets.
Pittsburgh Business Times This link opens in a new window An example of a publication that provides information about a particular market. Pittsburgh Business Times includes information about companies in the Pittsburgh market, and includes lists that may be useful in market analysis.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Tables that contain social, political, and economic data about the United States
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Contains financials, news, and other information about businesses and industries

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Coverage spans 1887 to present, including international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.

Why secondar research?

Who collects the research?

Items that you might find

Strategies and tips

Don't expect to find a perfect summary of what you hope to find
Generalize -- Industry trends the impact public companies will impact private ones as well
Use the language of the databases and use standardized codes (like NAICS)