ESL Resources for Teachers: Writing

Provides insight and practical tips for getting ELL students writing, even if they are at the very beginning stages of English acquisition. Has specific tools and strategies that help writing instruction meet the needs of ELL writers; illustrated classroom vignettes, samples of students' writing, student observations, and planning notes.

Offers ten classroom-tested writing assignments that support the particular needs of ELLs. Each assignment includes whole-class lessons to introduce the topic and teach about genre; leveled mini-lessons that address students' needs at the beginner, intermediate, and advanced language-proficiency levels; reproducible pre-writing activities; and a rubric. Filled with scaffolding ideas, conferring tips, student work, and more.

These easy, step-by-step lessons show teachers how to use the interactive whiteboard to engage students in learning excellent writing craft techniques with models of strong writing. Expert writing teacher Lola Schaefer covers all the essentials-organizing, setting a strong focus, writing convincing leads, and more! Includes tips for both Promethean and SMART Board users, plus CD with models to use on screen.

The princess ate peas for dinner. Or did she kiss a frog? The Subjects and Predicates Fun Deck provides endless activities to work on increasing length of utterance, use of articles and conjunctions and receptive skills. Each boxed Fun Deck includes 26 subject and 26 predicate cards.

Offers tested means of helping ELLs improve their writing, spoken English, and academic vocabulary. Provides an overview of four writing genres--narrative, expository, persuasive, and poetry--and how best to teach them to ELLs. Within each genre, sub genres are presented that are a part of the IRA standards. Shows teachers how to break down each genre to help ELLs better understand its structure and improve their writing in that genre.

These 56 doubled-sided cards help students identify and understand main and helping verbs in sentences. The cards have the same picture and sentence on each side ("Mom is putting on her makeup."). Students choose the main verb ("putting") on one side and the helping verb ("is") on the other. Students can use the Super Duper Secret Decoder to check their answers.

Presents pedagogical approaches to teaching ESL composition in the framework of current theoretical perspectives on second language writing processes, practices, and writers. Offers a synthesis of theory and practice and practice activities to develop the complex skills involved in teaching second language writing. Has hands-on, practical examples, materials, and tasks, which are presented in figures and in the main text.

Focuses on essential grammatical and lexical features of writing. Before ELLs can begin to successfully produce academic writing, they must have the foundations of language in place (grammar and vocabulary) they need to write. Offers techniques for teaching writing, grammar, and lexis to ELLs that help target specific problem areas of students' writing.

Fundamentals of the literacy workshop -- Language learners in the literacy workshop -- Reading workshop and considerations for language learners -- Writing workshop and considerations for language learners -- Language workshop and considerations for language learners -- Common questions and practical answers.

A wealth of practical lessons and activities from how to correctly use apostrophes to creating "word snapshot" posters this guide can help any English or language arts teacher inspire students. Because of its humor, accessible content and format, and often unusual approach to traditional subjects, this fun book has remained popular since its introduction in 1991, with this new edition updating topical references and adding dozens of new lessons and activities.

Developed by a widely published writer and humorist, these 15-minute reproducible activities teach key nonfiction writing skills. Activities cover all the essentials, including finding and developing a topic, describing vividly, using quotations, organizing ideas effectively, strengthening sentence structure, and many more.

Improve sight word recognition, build vocabulary, increase fluency, teach punctuation, and introduce grammar (nouns; action, linking and helping verbs; adverbs; adjectives; pronoun/determiners; articles and pronouns) with the Big Box of Sentence Building! The 250 puzzle pieces also include four blank puzzle pieces that can be used with write-on/wipe-off crayons or dry erase markers. Each piece is color-coded by the part of speech it represents.

Classroom-tested, ready-to-use overhead lessons plus reproducibles loaded with practice will help you teach students to write great essays. Topics covered include outlining, thesis statements, paragraph organization, topic sentences, transition words, and lots more.

Classroom-tested, ready-to-use overhead lessons plus reproducibles loaded with practice will help you teach students to write great paragraphs. Topics covered include topic sentences, transition words, concluding sentences, revision strategies, and lots more.

For teachers who are conducting a writing workshop or managing a writing workshop in the classroom. Explains the stages of the writing process and shows how to engage students in the dynamics of writing. Includes activities, numerous reproducibles, and 100 mini-lessons that concentrate on various types of writing, writing techniques, and the mechanics of writing.

Each activity book provides daily practice on key skills such as sequencing, editing, usage, and more. An effective way to boost students' writing skills.