LibGuides: ESL Resources for Teachers: Speaking

Find Resources at Gumberg Library

"Conversation" by Offical GDC is Licensed Under CC Attribution 2.0.

Relevant Databases

Find eBooks & Articles

ERIC
Many full-text education literature and resources.

ProQuest Education Journals
745 top educational publications, many in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Journals and books on education literature and resources.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Digital full-text reference works, scholarly books, and more.

eBrary
Over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

More Classroom Materials

Get More Resources @ CLP

The public library has more books, music, films, magazines, audiobooks, e-books, e-magazines, and ESL kits to use in class

Books in Gumberg Library: Speaking

Helpful Searches:

English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers

English language -- Spoken English -- Problems, exercises, etc.

Conversation -- Problems, exercises, etc.

Discussion -- Problems, exercises, etc.

Discussion & Games.

Conversation & Games.

TopicTalk by Susan Pike
Publication Date: 2006
TopicTalk Conversation Card Game is a fun way to help students begin a conversation with a specific topic, ask/answer questions about the topic, make comments, and/or maintain the topic for a specific time.
Springboards by Richard C. Yorkey
Publication Date: 2004
Completely reproducible activities: Getting acquainted, Picture galleries, Memory skills exercises, Crossword puzzles, You Be the Judge court cases, and Using the Telephone. Specific language functions include: asking and answering questions, presenting and defending opinions, memorizing and recalling specific vocabulary, reinforcing language structures (comparisons, conditionals, and two-word verbs), interpreting and predicting, and practicing telephone skills.
All about You, All about Me Fun Deck by Sharon Webber; Thomas Webber; Jack Vaughan
Publication Date: 2004
These questions and more will help your students sharpen their ability to ask and answer basic questions. Students can use the 56 question cards to talk about themselves and learn about others. The deck includes basic questions, open-ended questions, content cards, and game ideas all in a metal tin. Use the cards one-on-one or share them as a group.
First Discussion Starters by Keith S. Folse; Jeanine Aida Ivone
Publication Date: 2002
Includes conversation activities for lower-level ESL/EFL students. Contains a variety of tasks and exercises based on real situations, serious and lighter discussion topics, activities that require students to work together in pairs or small groups to reach a conclusion about a topic, and several kinds of oral fluency activities, such as problem-solving tasks, court cases, "finish the story," "put the story together," and small group presentations.
Instant Open-Ended Articulation Worksheets by Sharon G. Webber
Publication Date: 1990
Instant sheets for any sound! 130 blackline reproducibles. Perfect-bound. 6 levels of production - Isolation, Syllables, Words, Phrases, Sentences, Carryover.
Keep Talking by Friederike Klippel
Publication Date: 1985
This is a practical guide to communication activities. Part I contains instructions for over 100 different exercises, including interviews, guessing games, jigsaw tasks, problem solving, values clarification techniques, mime, role play and story telling. For each activity, notes are also provided on the linguistic and educational aims, the level, organisation, time and preparation required. Part II has accompaning reproducibles.

Books in Gumberg Library: Pronunciation

Helpful Searches:

English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers

English language -- Phonetics -- Problems, exercises, etc

English language -- Pronunciation by foreign speakers

English Language -- Pronunciation.

English Language -- Pronunciation & Games.

Foreign Accent Management by Mythri S. Menon
Publication Date: 2006
Foreign Accent Management is a guide to the management of accents for non-native speakers of the English language of European, African, Asian, or Indian origin. The author has compiled numerous valuable techniques in Speech-Language Pathology that have been in use for many years along with practical ideas gathered from workshops and tutoring.
Pronunciation Practice by Martin Hewings
Publication Date: 2004
Offers ideas on how they can make pronunciation teaching more interesting. It contains a collection of pronunciation practice activities for a wide range of levels, using a variety of methods. Divided into two parts, the first part introduces information about phonetics and phonology as background to the teaching activities. The second part of the book contains nearly 100 pronunciation activities. Has an audio CD with material to support the activities.
Sounds Easy! by Sharron Bassano
Publication Date: 2002
Provides an active stage for improving learners' use of two-word verbs and improving their listening and speaking skills. Opens with a two-page illustration for pre-listening preparation, followed by a recorded skit (on the accompanying audio component) with topics ranging from family relationships to old age. After listening to and/or reading the skit, students answer comprehension questions and complete exercises focusing on grammar, reading, listening, speaking, and writing.
30 Pocket Chart Poems That Teach Phonics by Linda Ross
Publication Date: 2003
Pop these poems into a pocket chart and build important reading skills! Children develop decoding strategies as they solve guess-me poems that target key sound-letter relationships. Comes with step-by-step lessons, pocket chart poems, reproducible picture cards, and follow-up activities.
Webber Articulation Card Combos by Sharon Webber
Publication Date: 1998
Consists of 7 decks of 64 playing cards (32 pairs) and 60 bonus chips. Each deck may be used in various ways to reinforce articulation, language development, listening and memory skills. Instruction booklet includes recommended activities.
Max's attic: phonics game : long & short vowels
Publication Date: 1998
Board game designed to aid students in matching long and short vowel sounds.

Online Speaking Resources

Please see Online Reading Resources for news articles and current events to start conversations.

American English: Read & Listen Stories
After choosing a story, click on the PDF and audio file on the right side
English Linx Worksheets
Free worksheets on speaking.
Web English Teacher: Speech
Links to activities, lesson plans, teaching ideas, etc.

Online Pronunciation Resources

Using English Speaking & Pronunciation
Offers links to speaking and pronunciation activities, lesson ideas, handouts, etc.
Okanagan College Pronunciation
Virtual lab contains 13 units on sound pairs.
American English: Traditional Songs
Offers lesson plans, audio files, and handouts to sing traditional American songs that improve pronunciation.
American English: Children's Songs
Offers lesson plans, audio files, and handouts to sing traditional American songs that improve pronunciation.
Easy World of English: Pronunciation
Pronunciation of the alphabet, word pairs, numbers, consonants, special endings, and verbs.
Speak Speak: Pronunciation
Explanations of English pronunciation.