LibGuides: ESL Resources for Teachers: Reading

Find Resources at Gumberg Library

"Bookshelf with Open Book" by Onderwijsgek is licensed under a CC Attribution 3.0 License

Books in Gumberg Library: Reading Activities

Helpful Searches:

Reading comprehension -- Problems, exercises, etc.

Reading (Elementary) -- Audio-visual aids.

Reading & Games.

Something Happens in Sequence Fun Deck by Becky L. Spivey
Publication Date: 2009
Something Happens in Sequence Fun Deck helps students develop comprehension skills by having them complete a sequence of events correctly. Each card in the 120-card Fun Deck asks the student to fill in one of three sequential events. What happened first? What happened second? or What happened last? The student chooses the sentence that completes each sequence, and then checks his/her answer using the secret decoder.
Fluency Practice Mini-Books by Kathleen M. Hollenbeck
Publication Date: 2005
Grade 2. Help students build fluency with the repeated reading practice they need. These high-interest mini-books-in a variety of genres-are leveled to best suit the needs of third. graders. Includes research-based mini-lessons, strategies, teaching ideas, rubrics, and checklists to help students read with ease and confidence.
Fluency Practice Mini-Books by Kathleen M. Hollenbeck
Publication Date: 2005
Grade 3. Help students build fluency with the repeated reading practice they need. These high-interest mini-books in a variety of genres are leveled to best suit the needs of third. graders. Includes research-based mini-lessons, strategies, teaching ideas, rubrics, and checklists to help students read with ease and confidence.
Extensive Reading Activities for Teaching Language by Richard R. Day; Julian Bamford
Publication Date: 2004
This lively collection of more than 100 classroom activities provides teachers with engaging ways to incorporate extensive reading into their classrooms. The creative and fun speaking, listening, role-play, reading, writing, and vocabulary activities, all linking reading to the rest of the curriculum, are suitable for students of all ages and levels. Teachers will find this handbook a valuable resource not just for reading courses, but for all types of language courses.
Say and Do Action Artic Combo
Publication Date: 2000
These colorful and cute individual card sets contain 56 cards (28 pairs) of sound-loaded, numbered, and illustrated sentences; two master lists; and two instruction/idea cards. Your students will have a wonderful time with these humorous sentences and scenes. Teach vocabulary and sentence structure in addition to targeting certain articulation sounds.

Relevant Databases

Find eBooks & Articles

TeachingBooks.net (DUQ Access)
Adds a multimedia dimension to children's and young adult books (fiction and nonfiction).

ERIC
Many full-text education literature and resources.

ProQuest Education Journals
745 top educational publications, many in full text.

Teacher Reference Center
Journals and books on education literature and resources.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Digital full-text reference works, scholarly books, and more.

eBrary
Over 70,000 full-text electronic books.

Books in Gumberg Library: Reading Comprehension

Helpful Searches:

Reading comprehension -- Study and teaching.

Reading & Second Lanugage Acquisition.

English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers.

Reading Comprehension.

Reading -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Reading Comprehension & Games.

Guided Comprehension for English Learners by Maureen McLaughlin
Publication Date: 2012
English Language Learners in Literacy Workshops by Marsha Riddle Buly
Publication Date: 2011
Solutions for Reading Comprehension by Linda Hoyt et al
Publication Date: 2011
Three parts- Nonfiction, Fiction, and Assessment- where commonly-asked questions frame a menu of solutions covering a variety of instructional possibilities. Following each question you'll find: Side-by-Side Observations, portraits of striving readers and the tools and solutions that will benefit their development. Formative assessment tools-reading records, observation checklists, story maps, and more-also available in a customizable format on the accompanying CD-ROM.
Teaching Reading to English Language Learners by Kristin Lems; Leah D. Miller; Tenena M. Soro
Publication Date: 2009
Provides practical strategies to help ELLs succeed at reading. The authors integrate knowledge from two fields that often remain disconnected--linguistics and literacy--with a focus on what works in the classroom. Learn effective practices for supporting students as they build core competencies: reading in English, listening, speaking, and writing. Engaging vignettes and examples illustrate ways to promote ELLs' communicative skills across the content areas and in formal and informal settings.
Revisit, Reflect, Retell, Updated Edition by Linda Hoyt
Publication Date: 2008
Shows how to scaffold instruction for deep engagement and provides a thorough grounding in the research. A DVD shares footage of Linda working with students, demonstrating key teaching moves, and modeling effective classroom language as she implements two new strategies. A CD of full-color learning tools from the text makes it easy to customize and print handouts that correspond with the strategies.
Teaching for Comprehending and Fluency by Irene C. Fountas; Gay Su Pinnell
Publication Date: 2006
Describes appropriate expectations for comprehending, fluency, and vocabulary development. You'll gain insight about the specific demands that fiction and nonfiction texts place on readers and about how effective readers think within, beyond, and about a text. Find effective teaching strategies for: comprehending, word solving, fluency, and vocabulary writing. Includes a DVD with video segments of exemplar teaching in real classroom settings, blackline masters, forms, checklists, and numerous other classroom tools.
Context clues : mystery mansion board game
Use context clues to discover the mansion's hidden mysteries.

More Classroom Materials

Get More Resources @ CLP

The public library has more books, music, films, magazines, audiobooks, e-books, e-magazines, and ESL kits to use in class.

Online Reading Resources

Smithsonian Institute's
Seriously Amazing

Smithsonian's Seriously Amazing
Scroll down for short, seriously amazing articles on our world.
Easy World of English Reading
Use the box on the right side to choose your level.
Voice of America Articles
Read and comment on articles that cover many topics.
American English "Adult learners" Articles
After choosing an article, click on PDF link on the right side.
American English: Read & Listen
After choosing a story, click on the PDF & audio file on the right side.
Using English Comprehension
Offers many reading comprehension exercises.
News in Levels
Read news articles in different levels and comment!
Breaking News English
Offers news in different levels.
Get Newsmart
Sign up for FREE and learn business English by reading articles, getting definitions, taking short quizzes, and leaving comments.
English Linx Worksheets
Free worksheets for reading comprehension.
Web English Teacher: Reading
Links to activities, lesson plans, teaching ideas, etc.

Breaking News English

Spark Interest with Current Events

Find news articles written for ESL students of different levels:

News in Levels

MORE Current Events

Find news articles written for ESL students of different levels: