Skip to main content
Duquesne Home Library Home Ask a Librarian Research Databases QuickSearch E-Z Borrow Course Reserves ILLiad Library Hours Citation Management Renew Materials

ESL Resources for Students: Vocabulary

ESL Resources for Students is divided into skill areas of language-learning, similar to the kinds of ESL courses at DUQ. Use the guide at your own speed: select just the resources you like best to help you practice.

Books in the Gumberg Library

Learn Vocabulary

Picture Dictionary

Easy World of English Picture Dictionary

Learn words you never knew by exploring this picture dictionary.

More Books at the Public Library

    Want MORE books to read?

Go to the Carnegie Public Library and find:

  • More books, magazines, e-books, e-magazines, ESL kits
  • Use Overdrive database to find more e-books
  • Sign up for Let's READ English

And don't forget... it's FREE.

Games

Playing educational games is a fun and effective way to learn anything!

There are many games in the Curriculum Center at the Gumberg Library that help you practice your grammar, vocabulary, comprehension, writing, pronunciation, and more. And you may take them home!

Find Games at Gumberg Library
 

 

25 nonfiction passages 
with vocabulary-building
crosswords 
 

Online Games:

Online Vocabulary Practice

Not sure what that word means?
Look it up in the Learner's Dictionary!

Learner's Dictionary

Is it an idiom?
Look it up in ESL Cafe's Idiom Dictionary.

Is it a phrasal verb?
Look it up in ESL Cafe's Phrasal Verb Dictionary.